Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted
  On 11/21/2022 at 12:03 AM, Wrestej said:

Red shirt wins and losses don’t count toward your record

Expand  

That's up to the school statisticians. Admittedly, I don't know if any school is doing that but career record is not an NCAA issue.

Those bouts do count towards the opponents.

Posted
  On 11/21/2022 at 2:41 PM, Wrestej said:

I apologize, I didn’t realize ncaa changed the rules to allow athletes to wrestle in duals while in redshirt year.  Odd.  

Expand  

Why "odd?"  They've been doing it in football. 

.

Posted
  On 11/21/2022 at 2:41 PM, Wrestej said:

I apologize, I didn’t realize ncaa changed the rules to allow athletes to wrestle in duals while in redshirt year.  Odd.  

Expand  

They can wrestle in 5 "competitions" /"attached" and still redshirt

 

Posted (edited)
  On 11/21/2022 at 2:41 PM, Wrestej said:

I apologize, I didn’t realize ncaa changed the rules to allow athletes to wrestle in duals while in redshirt year.  Odd.  

Expand  

To be clear, it applies only to true (i.e. first semester/year) freshman wrestlers.  Others who wrestle attached even once are no longer considered in redshirt.

Edited by 98lberEating2Lunches
Posted
  On 11/21/2022 at 5:02 PM, 98lberEating2Lunches said:

To be clear, it applies only to true (i.e. first semester/year) freshman wrestlers.  Others who wrestle attached even once are no longer considered in redshirt.

Expand  

Which means Schriever of Iowa and Decatur of the Ohio State are both officially off shirt.

  • Fire 1

"I know actually nothing.  It isn't even conjecture at this point." - me

 

 

Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 12:05 AM, MPhillips said:

D'Emilio has to be getting a medical RS then. Decatur is the starter at 41. Right?

Expand  

I don't know that either of these have been finalized. Decatur won the wrestle-off.  Medical RSs are granted (or not) after other eligibility is used and upon formal request (not just given in the year of the injury).

Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 12:05 AM, MPhillips said:

D'Emilio has to be getting a medical RS then. Decatur is the starter at 41. Right?

Expand  

I am okay with that.  I think if D'Emilio gets a medical and fills out to 149 next year then Decatur can do the same the following season.

They were both true frosh in 2020, but D'Emilio was on shirt and Decatur was not so D'Emilio has one more year of eligibility than Decatur, even if Decatur redshirts next year.  If Decatur doesn't and D'Emilio gets a medical shirt then D'Emilio will have three more years of eligibility than Decatur - despite being the same class.

Covid was weird.

"I know actually nothing.  It isn't even conjecture at this point." - me

 

 

Posted (edited)
  On 11/22/2022 at 12:16 AM, 98lberEating2Lunches said:

I don't know that either of these have been finalized. Decatur won the wrestle-off.  Medical RSs are granted (or not) after other eligibility is used and upon formal request (not just given in the year of the injury).

Expand  

No it isn't.  Have you heard of Cassar, Anthony?

He was granted two (2) seasons after his junior year of eligibility (which ended up being his frosh year of eligibility.

Screenshots_2022-11-21-19-41-44.png

Edited by nhs67
  • Fire 1

"I know actually nothing.  It isn't even conjecture at this point." - me

 

 

Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 12:16 AM, 98lberEating2Lunches said:

I don't know that either of these have been finalized. Decatur won the wrestle-off.  Medical RSs are granted (or not) after other eligibility is used and upon formal request (not just given in the year of the injury).

Expand  

I hear ya. I should have stated, "applying for a medical" I figured that was known. He was injured at the MSU Open and hasn't wrestled since. I don't believe the wrestle off has anything to do with it. D'Emilio has two matches. Decatur has two matches.

  • Fire 1

.

Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 12:43 AM, nhs67 said:

No it isn't.  Have you heard of Cassar, Anthony?

He was granted two (2) seasons after his junior year of eligibility (which ended up being his frosh year of eligibility.

Screenshots_2022-11-21-19-41-44.png

Expand  

Yes.  6th year waiver is needed to use a medical RS that exceeds 5 year competition period.  I believe that's not granted until eligibility is exhausted.  You are right, simply gaining a medical RS doesn't require eligibility to be exhausted, which would be the case for D'Emilio but not for Cassar.

Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 1:57 AM, 98lberEating2Lunches said:

Yes.  6th year waiver is needed to use a medical RS that exceeds 5 year competition period.  I believe that's not granted until eligibility is exhausted.  You are right, simply gaining a medical RS doesn't require eligibility to be exhausted, which would be the case for D'Emilio but not for Cassar.

Expand  

Cassar hadn't exhausted eligibility either, though, when granted.

"I know actually nothing.  It isn't even conjecture at this point." - me

 

 

Posted (edited)
  On 11/22/2022 at 2:57 AM, nhs67 said:

though, when granted.

Expand  

That's what I said.  Hadn't got 6th year waiver to use medical RS yet.  2nd Medical RS or on Medical RS after taking a normal RS is useless without it.  Can't actually get MEDICAL RS until season is over, because only then can evaluation of documentation against criteria be done (although they are granted with few exceptions).  Getting Medical RS is different from getting 6th year waiver for compeition period (5 yrs for 4 of competition).  Two separate processes.

Edited by 98lberEating2Lunches
Posted
  On 11/22/2022 at 3:03 AM, 98lberEating2Lunches said:

That's what I said.  Hadn't got 6th year waiver to use medical RS yet.  2nd Medical RS or on Medical RS after taking a normal RS is useless without it.  Can't actually get MEDICAL RS until season is over, because only then can evaluation of documentation against criteria be done (although they are granted with few exceptions).  Getting Medical RS is different from getting 6th year waiver for completion period.  Two separate processes.

Expand  

Potato, tomato.

You had said that medical wouldn't be used until eligibility was exhausted.  I read it as that it wouldn't be granted before eligibility was used up and knew that Cassar's was granted before he was done.  Both can be true 

"I know actually nothing.  It isn't even conjecture at this point." - me

 

 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...