Jump to content
  • Photo:

    Miracle named NWCA NAIA Women's Wrestling Coach of the Year

    MANHEIM, Pa. -- On Thursday, the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) announced the NAIA Women's Wrestling National Coach of the Year Award and Campbellsville's Lee Miracle earned the honor.

    Lee Miracle (Photo/Campbellsville Athletics)
    Coach Miracle is in his seventh year as head coach and his squad took home a runner-up trophy from the NWCA National Dual Championships while capturing their second Mid-South Conference and WCWA National Championships.

    "The NWCA is proud to honor Coach Miracle, and for the amazing job he has done at Campbellsville. He has built the CU Tiger program into a national powerhouse," said Mike Moyer, NWCA Executive Director.

    Presented annually, this honor goes to a coach who has demonstrated outstanding effort in developing and elevating their program on campus and in the community. The coach of the year awards program is presented by Defense Soap, the official Hygiene partner of the NWCA.

    Miracle has led the Lady Tigers to two WCWA National Championships and now has 14 WCWA Individual National Champions in just seven seasons.

    In 2019-20, the Lady Tigers won their second WCWA National Championship including three individual national titles - Mariah Harris, Abby Nette, and Alexandra Castillo. Campbellsville ran away with the national title by over 130+ points over Life University, which finished runner-up. CU set a new WCWA record with 13 All-Americans as well.

    Miracle delivered the program's first team national championship in 2018 after the Lady Tigers earned 196.5 points to win the team title by just five points. He coached his daughter, Kayla Miracle, to her fourth-straight WCWA National Championship and she became just the fourth individual to do so. Grace Bullen also was a national champion during her freshman campaign at Campbellsville.

    The 2018-19 season saw more individual accomplishments for the Lady Tigers with four Mid-South Conference Champions, an NAIA National Champion, and the Mid-South Conference Wrestler of the Year. McKayla Campbell won the MSC Women's Wrestler of the Year, Andribeth Rivera was an NAIA National Champion in the Inaugural NAIA Championship event for women's wrestling and the four conference champions included Rivera, Koral Sugiyama, Mariah Harris, and Alexandra Castillo.

    This award was scheduled to be presented on the eve of the NAIA Women's Wrestling Championships at the University of Jamestown. Unfortunately, the championships were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

    The NWCA will recognize the 2020 national winners during the NWCA National Convention awards luncheon. This year's convention, presented by Cliff Keen, Defense Soap, and Resilite will be hosted on July 31 - August 2 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino located in Hollywood, Fla.

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Create New...