Jump to content

  • Photo: Sam Janicki

    Photo: Sam Janicki

    NCAA Champions by Recruiting Class (Since 2001)

    We’ve done a lot of talking about recruiting lately, most of it is related to the incoming freshmen from the Class of 2023. Today we’re looking back in time. Year-by-year to see which recruiting classes have produced the most national champions, going back to 2001. As you can guess, the extra year of eligibility has resulted in star wrestlers staying in college longer than in the past, resulting in the dearth of champions from the most recent graduating classes. 


    Ben Cherrington (Boise State)

    Joe Dubuque (Indiana)

    Nate Gallick (Iowa State)

    Travis Lee (Cornell)

    Troy Letters (Lehigh)

    Steve Mocco (Iowa/Oklahoma State)

    Jake Rosholt (Oklahoma State)

    Shane Webster (Oregon)


    Ben Askren (Missouri)

    Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State)

    Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State)

    Cole Konrad (Minnesota)

    Derek Moore (UC Davis)

    Trent Paulson (Iowa State)

    Matt Valenti (Penn)

    Teyon Ware (Oklahoma)


    Phil Davis (Penn State)

    Keith Gavin (Pittsburgh)

    Josh Glenn (American)

    Jake Herbert (Northwestern)

    Mark Perry (Iowa)


    Paul Donahoe (Nebraska/Edinboro)

    Dustin Fox (Northwestern)

    J Jaggers (Ohio State)

    Jarrod King (Oklahoma/Edinboro)

    Jordan Leen (Cornell)

    Steve Luke (Michigan)

    Coleman Scott (Oklahoma State)


    Max Askren (Missouri)

    Jay Borschel (Virginia Tech/Iowa)

    Mark Ellis (Missouri)

    Angel Escobedo (Indiana)

    Gregor Gillespie (Edinboro)

    Franklin Gomez (Michigan State)

    Brent Metcalf (Virginia Tech/Iowa)

    Jayson Ness (Minnesota)

    Troy Nickerson (Cornell)

    Mike Pucillo (Ohio State)

    Dustin Schlatter (Minnesota)

    Jake Varner (Iowa State)

    David Zabriskie (Iowa State)


    Jordan Burroughs (Nebraska)

    Darrion Caldwell (NC State)

    Bubba Jenkins (Penn State/Arizona State)

    JP O’Connor (Harvard)

    Jon Reader (Iowa State)

    Anthony Robles (Arizona State)


    Dustin Kilgore (Kent State)

    Frank Molinaro (Penn State)

    Zach Rey (Lehigh)

    Kellen Russell (Michigan)

    Cam Simaz (Cornell)


    Steve Bosak (Cornell)

    Matt Brown (Iowa State/Penn State)

    Andrew Howe (Wisconsin/Oklahoma)

    Matt McDonough (Iowa)

    Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State)

    Quentin Wright (Penn State)


    Kyle Dake (Cornell)

    Kendric Maple (Oklahoma)

    Tony Nelson (Minnesota)

    Chris Perry (Oklahoma State)

    Tony Ramos (Iowa)

    Ed Ruth (Penn State)

    Derek St. John (Iowa)

    David Taylor (Penn State)


    Jesse Delgado (Cal Poly/Illinois)

    Kyven Gadson (Iowa State)

    Drake Houdashelt (Missouri)

    Logan Stieber (Ohio State)



    Cody Brewer (Oklahoma)

    Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State)

    Nahshon Garrett (Cornell)

    Nick Gwiazdowski (Binghamton/NC State)

    Nico Megaludis (Penn State)



    Cory Clark (Iowa)

    Gabe Dean (Cornell)

    Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern/Arizona State)



    Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers)

    J’den Cox (Missouri)

    Darian Cruz (Lehigh)

    Dean Heil (Oklahoma State)

    Mike Macchiavello (NC State)

    Isaiah Martinez (Illinois)

    Zain Retherford (Penn State)

    Nate Tomasello (Ohio State)



    Anthony Cassar (Penn State)

    Drew Foster (Northern Iowa)

    Seth Gross (Iowa/South Dakota State/Wisconsin)

    Bo Nickal (Penn State)

    Jason Nolf (Penn State)

    Kyle Snyder (Ohio State)



    Vincenzo Joseph (Penn State)

    Myles Martin (Ohio State)

    Zahid Valencia (Arizona State)



    Ryan Deakin (Northwestern)

    Max Dean (Cornell/Penn State)

    Mark Hall (Penn State)

    Nick Suriano (Penn State/Rutgers/Michigan)



    Vito Arujau (Cornell)

    Nino Bonaccorsi (Pittsburgh)

    Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell)

    Nick Lee (Penn State)

    Spencer Lee (Iowa)

    Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech)

    Austin O’Connor (North Carolina)


    Roman Bravo-Young (Penn State)

    Aaron Brooks (Penn State)

    David Carr (Iowa State)

    Patrick Glory (Princeton)

    Shane Griffith (Stanford)

    Mason Parris (Michigan)

    Gable Steveson (Minnesota)


    Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado)

    Carter Starocci (Penn State)


    AJ Ferrari (Oklahoma State)

    Keegan O’Toole (Missouri)

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...