Jump to content

  • Photo: Tony Rotundo

    Photo: Tony Rotundo

    Facts, Trends, and Numbers from the 2024 NCAA Championships (post-Tournament)

    One of my favorite things to do after the NCAA Tournament each year is to pick out some fun facts and trends that emerge from the action. This year was no different. There were plenty of “first since….” or “most since…” so let’s get to them!

    For the first time since 2009, there have been back-to-back years without a freshman national champion. You could make the case that it’s been three years. Keegan O’Toole won in 2022 and could be considered a freshman because of the extra year of eligibility in 2021. 

    With titles from Richie Figueroa (#8), Vito Arujau (#6), and Carter Starocci (#9), 2024 was the first year since 2003 with three championships from the sixth seed or higher. That year Ryan Bertin (#6), Jake Rosholt (#10), and Damion Hahn (#6) won titles. That’s a bit misleading as Arujau and Starocci were obviously better than a typical #6 or a #9 seed.

    To see the full article purchase an InterMat Premium membership for $10 per month or $50 per year. This gives you access to the top coverage of wrestling throughout the season.
    Click here to purchase your Premium membership today!

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Create New...