Jump to content
  • Photo:


    Bucknell's Zach Hartman voted EIWA Wrestler of the Year

    Zach Hartman

    BETHLEHEM, Pa. -- Bucknell's Zach Hartman was named the EIWA Wrestler of the Year, the conference office announced Wednesday afternoon.

    Hartman became the first Bison to earn this prestigious award after winning an EIWA title and earning All-America laurels during the 2020-21 campaign.

    At the EIWA Championships, Hartman went 3-0 en route to winning the 165-pound championship. Already a two-time EIWA runner-up, he joined Andy Rendos (165, 2010), current assistant coach Kevin LeValley (149, 2011) and Joe Stolfi (285, 2014) as Bucknell's EIWA champions. He also became the second Bison to earn the EIWA Coaches' Trophy as the EIWA Championships' Outstanding Wrestler, joining LeValley. He also qualified for his third NCAA Championships.

    Hartman's sixth-place performance at the NCAA's premier event was the third highest by a Bison. Previously, Tom Marchetti (167) finished fourth in 1989 and Rendos (165) went fifth in 2009; Rendos also took sixth in 2010. Hartman was the sixth Bison wrestler to earn All-America laurels, joining Marchetti , Bryan Burns (190, 1991), Bobby Ferraro (177, 1994 & 1995), Rendos and LeValley (149, 2010 & 2011). In addition, he joined Marchetti as Bucknell's second NCAA semifinalist.

    Overall, Hartman went 12-3 with two pins, one technical fall and one major decision. He won his first 12 bouts in a row, representing a new career-long winning streak. He appeared in all three NCAA Coaches' Panel Rankings, checking in as high as seventh, and was ranked as high as sixth nationally by both Intermat and The Open Mat.

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Create New...