Jump to content

  • Photo: Photo/Tony Rotundo

    Photo: Photo/Tony Rotundo

    Burroughs named to USA Freestyle World Cup Team

    Jordan Burroughs celebrates after winning a world title at 74 kilograms (Photo/Tony Rotundo, WrestlersAreWarriors.com)

    USA Wrestling has named Jordan Burroughs (Lincoln, Neb./Sunkist Kids/Nebraska WTC) to its 2018 U.S. Men's Freestyle World Cup Team at 74 kg/163 lbs.

    Burroughs will be on the USA Wrestling team which will compete at the 2018 Freestyle World Cup at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on the campus of the University of Iowa, April 7-8. The World Cup is the annual international dual meet championship, and will feature the top eight men's freestyle wrestling teams in the world.

    Burroughs, a 2012 Olympic champion and four-time World champion, will be competing in his sixth Freestyle World Cup. Burroughs has a perfect 23-0 record in his five World Cups, and is recognized as an individual World Cup champion each year. His previous World Cup appearances were in Baku, Azerbaijan (2012), Tehran, Iran (2013), Los Angeles, Calif. USA (2014 and 2015) and Kermanshah, Iran (2017).

    He is recognized as one of the greatest U.S. wrestlers of all time. Burroughs boasts an Olympic gold medal from the 2012 Olympics in London, England. He claimed World gold medals in 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2017, and is tied with John Smith and Tricia Saunders for the most Senior World titles in USA history. His five combined Olympic/World titles trails only Smith's six. Burroughs also boasts a 2014 World bronze medal.

    In addition to winning five World Cups, Burroughs has claimed two Pan American Games titles (2011 and 2015). He added Pan American Championships titles in 2014 and 2016. Burroughs won a U.S. record 69 straight matches to start his career on the Senior level. He won a 2013 World title just a month after breaking his ankle. In 2015, Burroughs was named USOC Male Olympic Athlete of the Year.

    In college, Burroughs won two NCAA titles (2009, 2011) and three All-American honors for the University of Nebraska. He was the 2011 Dan Hodge Trophy winner as the nation's best college wrestler.

    Burroughs was a 2006 New Jersey state champion for Winslow Township High School.

    USA Wrestling will announce one World Cup participant in each of the 10 weight classes each day through March 14. In addition to these 10 athletes, additional athletes will be added to the team roster, with at least two wrestlers in each weight class.

    The USA has drawn into Pool A against the nations of Japan, Georgia, and Iran. Pool B consists of teams from Russia, Azerbaijan, Cuba, and Kazakhstan. Iran is the defending World Cup team champions.

    This will be the first major international event for the U.S. men's freestyle program, since the United States won the team title at the 2017 World Wrestling Championships in Paris, France last August. It was the first World Team Title for the USA in men's freestyle in 22 years and only the third time in history.

    Ticket opportunities for the World Cup include a Gold all-session package ($225), a Black all-session package ($150), and standard all-session tickets ($75/$50). Tickets are now available on the University of Iowa Athletics website.

    Visit worldcupiowacity.com for more information on the event.

    At Iowa City, Iowa, April 7-8

    U.S. men's freestyle lineup (as of March 9)
    57 kg/125.5 lbs. - Thomas Gilman, Iowa City, Iowa (Titan Mercury WC/Hawkeye WC)
    61 kg/134 lbs. - Kendric Maple, Lincoln, Neb. (Titan Mercury WC/Nebraska WtC)
    65 kg/143 lbs. - Logan Stieber, Columbus, Ohio (Titan Mercury WC/Ohio RTC)
    70 kg/154 lbs. - James Green, Lincoln, Neb. (Titan Mercury WC/Nebraska WTC)
    74 kg/163 lbs. - Jordan Burroughs, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids/Nebraska WTC)
    79 kg/174 lbs. -
    86 kg/189 lbs.
    92 kg/202.5 lbs. -
    97 kg/213 lbs.
    125 kg/275 lbs. -
    National Freestyle Coaches - Bill Zadick, Kevin Jackson and Joe Russell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
    Honorary Coaches - Dan Gable (Iowa City, Iowa), J Robinson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Mike Duroe (Marion, Iowa)

    Additional U.S. athletes and delegation members will also be named.

    Jordan Burroughs previous World Cup results
    2017 World Cup, Kermanshah, Iran, Feb. 16-17
    WIN Jumber Kelashvili (Georgia), 2-2
    WIN Murad Suleymanov (Azerbaijan), 3 cautions
    WIN Atsamaz Sanakoev (Russia), 10-1
    WIN Peyman Yarahmadi (Iran), 3-2

    2015 World Cup, Los Angeles, Calif,, April 11-12
    WIN Unurbat Purevjav (Mongolia), 6-0
    WIN Iakubali Shikhdzhamalov (Russia), 10-0 tech. fall
    WIN Livan Lopez (Cuba), 6-2
    WIN Morteza Rezaei Ghaleh (Iran), 10-0 tech. fall

    2014 World Cup, Los Angeles, Calif., March 15-16
    WIN Varuzhan Kajoyan (Armenia), 16-6 tech. fall
    WIN Parveen Rana (India), 2:44 pin
    WIN Ezzatollah Akbari Zarinkolaei (Iran), 7-1
    WIN Murat Erturk (Turkey), 2:17 pin
    WIN Giya Chykladze (Ukraine), 15-4 tech. fall

    2013 World Cup, Tehran, Iran, Feb. 21-22
    WIN Ali Shabanau (Belarus), 1-1, 5-0
    WIN Stefanov Kirov (Bulgaria), 7-0, 6-0
    WIN Ezzatollah Akbarizarinkolaei (Iran), 4-0, 2-0
    WIN Sohsuke Takatani (Japan), 2-0, 7-1
    WIN Jakob Makarashvili (Georgia), 3-0, 2-1

    2012 World Cup, Baku, Azerbaijan, May 12-13
    WIN Davit Khutsishvili (Georgia)
    WIN Sadegh Goudarzi (Iran)
    WIN Demirsin Batuhan (Turkey)
    WIN Sohsuke Takatani (Japan), 4-5, 3-1, 3-2
    WIN Ammet Gadzimagomedov (Russia)

    Residence: Lincoln, Neb. Club: Sunkist Kids
    College: Nebraska High School: Atco, N.J. (Winslow Township)
    Born: July 8, 1988 Weight Class: 74 kg/163 lbs.
    • Olympic Champion (2012)
    • Four-time World champion (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017)
    • Third in 2014 World Championships
    • Two-time U.S. Olympic Team member (2012, 2016)
    • Two-time Pan American Games champion (2011, 2015)
    • Four-time World Cup champion (2012-2015, 2017)
    • Three-time U.S. Open champion (2011, 2013, 2014)
    • Two-time Pan American Championships champion (2014, 2016)
    • Two-time NCAA champion for Nebraska (2009, 2011)
    • 2011 Dan Hodge Trophy winner, as nation's top college wrestler (2011)

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Create New...