Missouri announces year-end awards

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The University of Missouri wrestling program officially closed the book on the 2010-11 season, as they held their annual banquet on Friday, April 15. Seven Tiger grapplers were recognized with nine different awards for their achievements over the course of the year.

Junior Dom Bradley was named the team's Most Outstanding Wrestler after winning his first career Big 12 title and earned his first ever All-America honors after taking third at the NCAA Championships. The Most Outstanding Wrestler award is the oldest award given by the Missouri wrestling program, dating back to 1963. Bradley finished his first year as a starter in Missouri's lineup with a 30-4 record, including a 19-3 record in duals.

Earning the Marshall Esteppe Most Outstanding Freshman Award was Alan Waters, who emerged as one of the top 125-pounders in the country this season as he posted a 39-7 record during his true freshman campaign. This award is given to the freshman wrestle who has made the most significant contribution to his class and teammates. Marshall Esteppe is credited with resurrecting the Missouri wrestling program in 1958 after 10 years of dormancy. Waters also won the award for Most Falls, as he stuck 11 opponents over the course of the season.

After winning his first career Big 12 title and first-ever All-America honors at 141 pounds, senior Todd Schavrien was awarded with both the Hap Whitney Coach's Award and the Ironman Award. With a 30-9 record and a sixth place finish at NCAA's, Schavrien wraps up his career as a Tiger with an overall record of 86-44. The Coach's Award is given to the wrestler that displays dedication, commitment, sacrifice and unselfishness to the team on a constant basis, while the Ironman Award is given to the Missouri wrestler who has never missed a weight training session, practice or competition.

Stepping in at 157 pounds this year, Nick Gregoris was picked as the team's Most Improved Wrestler, which has been given to former Tiger greats such as Michael Chandler, Nicholas Marable and Todd Schavrien. Gregoris finished the season with a second place finish at Big 12's and posted a 17-12 record.

Redshirt sophomore Nathan McCormick was given the Ed Lampitt Total Tiger Award, given to the wrestler who is a leader both on and off the mat. McCormick earned his first ever NCAA bid this season in his second year as a starter. Winning the Strength and Conditioning Award was junior Dorian Henderson, while sophomore Todd Porter earned the Total Person Progrma Academic Excellence Award for his success in the classroom.


Login or Register to post a comment