Fan Voting is Open for the 2022 Dan Hodge Trophy

The official Fan Voting for the 2022 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy has begun. The Fan Vote on WIN Magazine's website for "wrestling's Heisman Trophy" accounts for five first-place ballots towards the winner's overall total for the prestigious award presented annually by ASICS. As many as 140,000 fans have voted for the Hodge in a one-week period following the NCAA Championships. The fan vote ends on 5 p.m. on Friday, March 25.

The Hodge Trophy Voting Committee casts the remainder of the official votes. The committee is made up of past winners of the award, media, a retired college coach from each region and a representative of each national wrestling organization.

Once again, there is an outstanding field of finalists as eight NCAA champions finished undefeated and dominated opponents on their way to 2022 titles. The finalists are:

Michigan's Nick Suriano, 125#
Penn State's Roman Bravo-Young, 133#
Penn State's Nick Lee, 141#
Cornell's Yianni Diakomihalis, 149#
Northwestern's Ryan Deakin, 157#
Missouri's Keegan O'Toole, 165#
Penn State's Carter Starocci, 174#
Minnesota's Gable Steveson, HWT

Named after Oklahoma's legendary three-time NCAA champion who was never taken down in college and pinned 36 of 46 opponents over a three-year span, the award is given annually to the most dominant wrestler in the country. Criteria include:

Dominance/Bonus-Point Percentage
Quality of Competition

To vote for the 2022 Hodge:

Hodge Vote

WIN's website includes additional information on the Hodge, as well as the release story of each past winner including their stats during the season for the year they won the award. For more information:

Hodge Trophy Information


Login or Register to post a comment

Keyser Soze (2) about 2 months ago
Gable Steveson. There is no other answer.
mzendar (2) about 2 months ago
Agree Gable is a stud but maybe if you win OLYMPIC Gold you shouldn't come back to NCAA. I know its been done before but they have nothing to prove.
poliseo (1) about 2 months ago
Agree that Steveson deserves the award. He was the best wrestler in any weight class and had some real studs that he had to beat - Parris, Kerkvliet, Schultz, etc.
1pattonr (1) about 2 months ago
Steveson almost certainly wins it and he should, however when was the last time the Hodge winner had only 1 pin for the season? I realize this year consisted of fewer than usual matches for most wrestlers, but still.