Oklahoma, Oklahoma State share Big 12 wrestling crown

Results: Brackets

Oklahoma and Oklahoma State shared the 2021 Big 12 Wrestling Championship after securing 124 points each in the two-day event at the BOK Center.

In a rematch of last year's title bout at 141, Oklahoma's Dom Demas outlasted Iowa State's Ian Parker in a 4-3 in tiebreaker 2 to reclaim his title and earn the second in his career. The point total boosted the Sooners to 124 on the evening.

Behind by four points, it came down to Oklahoma State freshman AJ Ferrari at 174 pounds to give the Cowboys a tie for the title. He registered a 13-6 decision over Wyoming's Stephen Buchanan to pick up the crown and give OSU its ninth-consecutive and 18th Big 12 Championship title. The Sooners claimed their third title and first since 2002.

Ferrari was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for the event, while Oklahoma coach Lou Rosselli was named Coach of the Year.

After the Sooners and Cowboys, Iowa State finished third with 117.5 points, Wyoming fourth with 105.5 points and Northern Iowa with 79.0 points to round out the top five.

In other bouts on the evening, Northern Iowa's Brody Teske became the first Panther to win the 125 weight class with a 9-7 decision over Utah Valley's Taylor LaMont.

Oklahoma State's Daton Fix, the nation's top wrestler in the 133, claimed his second title and the first since 2019 with a 6-1 decision over Oklahoma's Tony Madrigal. Boo Lewallen picked up his third Big 12 title and crucial team points for Oklahoma State with a 7-6 decision over Oklahoma's Mitch Moore in the 149 weight class.

Iowa State's David Carr repeated as the champion at 157 with an 8-2 win over North Dakota State's Jared Franek. North Dakota State's Andrew Weber collected the first team title for the Bison at 165 pounds with an 11-7 decision.

Utah Valley's Demetrius Romero claimed his second Big 12 crown and the first in the 174 pounds category with his 6-2 decision over Northern Colorado's Jackson Hemauer.

Parker Keckeisen claimed the 184 title with his 5-3 decision over Wyoming's Tate Samuelson. In a rematch of last year's heavyweight title bout, Iowa State's Gannon Gremmel closed out the evening with a 2-0 decision against Wyoming's Brian Andrews.

The NCAA awarded the Big 12 45 pre-allocations this season. The allocations are spread amongst all 10 weight classes, with six classes earning five spots (125, 133, 149, 165, 197 and 285). The 141, 174 and 184 earned four allocations, while 157 collected three.

The Division I Wrestling Committee will meet to select the remaining at-large qualifiers to fill out the 33-person bracket in each weight class, which will be announced March 10, via NCAA livestream while brackets and seeding will be announced on at 4 p.m. March 11.

Final Team Standings
1. Oklahoma - 124 points
1. Oklahoma State - 124 points
3. Iowa State - 117.5 points
4. Wyoming - 105.5 points
5. Northern Iowa - 79.0 points
6. North Dakota State - 78.0 points
7. Northern Colorado - 70.5 points
8. South Dakota State - 67.5 points
9. West Virginia - 57.0 points
10. Utah Valley - 55.0 points
11. Air Force - 32.5 point
12. Fresno State - 31.0 points

Individual Winners
125 - Brody Teske, Northern Iowa
133 - Daton Fix, Oklahoma State
141 - Dom Demas, Oklahoma
149 - Boo Lewallen, Oklahoma State
157 - David Carr, Iowa State
165 - Andrew Weber, North Dakota State
174 - Demetrius Romero, Utah Valley
184 - Parker Keckeisen, Northern Iowa
197 - AJ Ferrari, Oklahoma State
Heavyweight - Gannon Gremmel, Iowa State


Login or Register to post a comment

djhart69 (1) about a month ago
Wow, great tournament to watch, well deserved C.O.Y. to Lou Rosselli.

ESPN streaming service has some work do before NCAAs, most of the time didn't have a score and clock and when they did it was almost always wrong. Some times didn't have the right wrestlers or even right schools. No excuse for the "Worldwide Leader In Sports", there was only four mats.