Missouri wins ninth consecutive MAC title

Missouri claimed its ninth consecutive MAC title and broke the tournament scoring record

Links: Brackets | Team Scores

TRENTON, N.J. -- The No. 5 Missouri Tigers won their ninth consecutive Mid-American Conference Wrestling Championship with a MAC record 188.5 total team points today at the Cure Insurance Arena in Trenton, N.J. A total of eight Missouri wrestlers competed in the final, with four of them coming away as champions.

Missouri's Matt Schmitt (133 lbs.), Brock Mauller (149 lbs.), Keegan O'Toole (165 lbs.) and Rocky Elam (197 lbs.) all secured individual MAC titles.

Central Michigan's Matt Stencel became the ninth wrestler in Mid-American Conference history to win four individual league titles when he defeated Rider's Ethan Laird, 7-2, in the final at 285 pounds. CMU's Drew Hildebrandt (125) and Dresden Simon (141) repeated as champions in their respective weight classes, joining Stencel in leading CMU to a runner-up finish behind fifth-ranked Missouri.

Final Team Results
1. Missouri -- 188.5 (MAC RECORD)
2. Central Michigan -- 129
3. Rider -- 120.5
4. Northern Illinois -- 90
5. Edinboro -- 80
6. Cleveland State -- 68
7. Clarion -- 57.5
8. Kent State -- 54
9. Buffalo -- 44
10. SIU Edwardsville -- 43.5
11. George Mason -- 35
12. Ohio -- 34
12. Bloomsburg -- 28.5
13. Lock Haven -- 15

Championship Matches:
125: No. 1 seed Drew Hildebrandt (Central Michigan) def. No. 4 Noah Surtin (Missouri), 6-1
133: No. 1 seed Matthew Schmitt (Missouri) def. Unseeded Richie Koehler (Rider), 9-6
141: No. 2 seed Dresden Simon (Central Michigan) def. No. 5 seed McKenzie Bell (Rider), 12-5
149: No. 1 Brock Mauller (Missouri) def. No. 6 Marcus Robinson (Cleveland State), 6-0
157: No. 1 Jesse Dellavecchia (Rider) def. No. 2 Jarrett Jacques (Missouri), 3-2
165: No. 1 Keegan O'Toole (Missouri) def. No. 2 Izzak Olejnik (Northern Illinois), 6-2
174: No. 1 Andrew McNally (Kent State) def. No. 2 Peyton Mocco (Missouri), 8-7
184: No. 1 Brit Wilson (Northern Illinois) def. No. 2 Jeremiah Kent (Missouri), Fall (4:33)
197: No. 2 Rocky Elam (Missouri) def. No. 4 Ben Smith (Cleveland State), 10-4
285: No. 1 Matt Stencel (Central Michigan) def. No. 2 Ethan Laird (Rider), 8-2


Login or Register to post a comment

ban basketball (1) about a month and a half ago
Looks like they don't teach math too good in Columbia, eh, folks?!
rkraemer629 (1) about a month and a half ago
According to Missouri's website, it's their 10th. So, it's InterMat that can't count.
ban basketball (1) about a month and a half ago
Not sure. The MAC says nine straight as well. Looks like some numbers fudging to me. RIGGED!
rkraemer629 (1) about a month and a half ago
Figured out the confusion...It was their 9th straight MAC championship, but 10th straight conference championship.
thegrappler126 (1) about a month and a half ago
Correct they won the Big 12 the last year they were in that conference.