Kent State reclaims Grudge Match trophy

ATHENS, OHIO -- Kent State never trailed in Sunday's dual with the Ohio Bobcats and won back the Grudge Match trophy with a convincing 22-10 win over the rival Bobcats inside the Convocation Center in Athens.

Jake Ferri ran his win streak to eight straight with a 5-2 victory over Oscar Sanchez. After a conservative first period, Ferri was able to take control and secure the decision. Brendon Fenton stayed perfect in 2021, winning his fifth match of the season with an 8-6 victory. Fenton won the back-and-forth match with a late score and getting the bonus point for riding time.

Ohio got on the board at 141 with a major decision victory and cut the Golden Flashes lead to two at 6-4. Kody Komara won a tight defensive battle, getting the lone escape of the match with Alex Mosconi to win 1-0. Ian Senz fought hard but came up on the short end of a 6-1 decision. James Limongi returned to the lineup in a big way, getting a third-period near-fall to break open a defensive struggle with Nick Vestal and turning it into a 7-1 decision.

John Mark Williams stunned Xavier Torres at 174, securing two points late in the third period to flip the script into a 4-3 decision in favor of the Bobcats. Tyler Bates got a pair of stall points against Mason Kroening and earned a take down as well. That's all Bates needed in a 4-1 victory to put Kent State on the doorstep of a victory with a 15-10 lead.

Colin McCracken won the battle of Colins in a big way. McCracken earned his sixth victory of the season and secured the Grudge Match victory. McCracken got up on McNamara early and never let up getting the bonus point for the Flashes in a 14-4 major decision. Cover put the exclamation point on the win, getting a 5-3 victory over Jordan Earnest.

The victory brings the Grudge Match trophy back to Kent State for the first time since 2017 and moves the Golden Flashes to 4-3 on the season in traditional duals. The Flashes wrap up the hone season on Friday, welcoming in Edinboro and Northern Illinois for a round-robin on Friday. Wrestling is set to begin at noon inside the M.A.C. Center.

125: Jake Ferri d. Oscar Sanchez (5-2)
133: Brendon Fenton d. Conor McCrone (8-6)
141: Kyran Hagan d. Avry Mutschler (10-2, MD)
149: Kody Komara d. Alex Mosconi (1-0)
157: Jordan Slivka d. Ian Senz (6-1)
165: James Limongi d. Nick Vestal (7-1)
174: John Mark Williams d. Xavier Torres (4-3)
184: Tyler Bates d. Mason Kroening (4-1)
197: Colin McCracken d. Colin McNamara (14-4, MD)
285: Jacob Cover d. Jordan Earnest (5-3)


Login or Register to post a comment