Little Rock records pair of historic victories

LITTLE ROCK -- The Trojans made program history twice Sunday by picking up their first-ever Division I win over Fresno State followed by their first conference victory at CSU Bakersfield. Little Rock wrestling bested Fresno State 35-11 before claiming the win over Pac-12 opponent CSU-Bakersfield, 24-21.

"Super pumped for the guys," said head coach Neil Erisman. "We started off rough but found a way to fight back and that's what wrestling is all about. Got some wins, got some pins, and found a way to keep wrestling. All these matches and all this work we've put in is starting to show and it's big for the guys. It's a breakthrough for our program, our guys, and it's what we've been expecting so it makes it that much better."

In the first milestone, Paul Bianchi and Gabe Beyer each earned major decisions over Fresno State, each going 2-1 on the day, while Thomas Lisher added a 3-2 decision to pick up his first win of the season. Little Rock won by forfeit at four weight classes to seal the deal, 35-11.

After wrestling both Cal Poly and Fresno State, Trojans then made the two-hour journey from San Luis Obispo to Bakersfield to take on the Roadrunners, taking down their Pac-12 foes with a 24-21 team score.

True freshman Khyler Brewer had a breakout match with his technical fall win against CSUB, while Kyle Prewitt and Dylan Johnson each picked up big team points, each producing pins in the first period. Alex Hernandez and Beyer helped out as well, with the freshman adding his second career win by decision and Beyer collecting another major today.

"We had some big time wins by Khyler, Kyle, and Dylan," added Coach Erisman. "If we wouldn't have gotten that pin from Dylan, we wouldn't have gotten that dual. I don't think Division I wrestling has ever had an Arkansas native perform like this. The level of commitment he's put into this is incredible and we're proud to have him in our gym."

The Trojans will return home to Little Rock next weekend for their last appearance at the Jack Stephens Center this season, hosting Oklahoma, South Dakota State, and Pac-12 members Stanford on Sunday, Jan. 31.


vs Cal Poly
125: Antonio Lorenzo (Cal Poly) DEC Khyler Brewer, SV-1, 5-3
133: Paul Bianchi TF Benny Martinez (Cal Poly), 23-8 (7:00)
141: Lawrence Saenz (Cal Poly) MD Conner Ward, 10-2
149: Legend Lamer (Cal Poly) MD Joseph Bianchi, 15-2
157: Brawley Lamer (Cal Poly) MD Noah Aziere, 13-0
165: Adam Kemp (Cal Poly) MD Alex Hernandez, 14-4
174: #25 Bernie Truax (Cal Poly) TF Triston Wills, 20-4 (4:45)
184: Tanner Mendoza DEC Jarad Priest (Cal Poly), 3-1
197: Trevor Tinker (Cal Poly) F Dylan Johnson, 4:55
285: Sam Aguilar (Cal Poly) DEC Gabe Beyer, TB-1, 3-2

vs Fresno State
125: Khyler Brewer win by forfeit
133: Paul Bianchi MD Haiden Drury (Fresno State), 14-4
141: #13 DJ Lloren (Fresno State) MD Conner Ward, 9-0
149: Kyle Parco (Fresno State) DEC Kyle Prewitt, 4-1
157: Thomas Lisher (Little Rock) DEC Christopher Gaxiola (Fresno State), 3-2
165: Alex Hernandez wins by forfeit
174: Triston Wills wins by forfeit
184: Hunter Cruz (Fresno State) MD Tanner Mendoza, 10-2
197: Dylan Johnson wins by forfeit
285: Gabe Beyer MD Randy Gonzalez (Fresno State), 12-3

vs CSU-Bakersfield
125: Khyler Brewer TF Eddie Flores (CSUB), 18-3 (7:00)
133: Chance Rich (CSUB) DEC Paul Bianchi, 7-5
141: Angelo Martinoni (CSUB) DEC Conner Ward, 3-0
149: Kyle Prewitt F Kalani Tonge (CSUB), 2:27
157: Brock Rogers (CSUB) win by default over Thomas Lisher
165: Alex Hernandez DEC Braden Smelser (CSUB), 7-2
174: Robert Urias (CSUB) DEC Triston Wills, 4-3
184: Dominic Ducharme (CSUB) F Tanner Mendoza, 2:04
197: Dylan Johnson F Adrian Chavez (CSUB), 1:58
285: Gabe Beyer MD Jacob Sieder (CSUB), 13-5

Extra Matches:
133: Jaylen Carson DEC Brandon Paulson (CBU), 10-5
133: Jaylen Carson MD Alexander Hernandez (CSUB), 12-1
141: Jaylen Carson F Jose Landin (CSUB), 2:25
157: Noah Aziere DEC Josh McMillon (CSUB), 6-4
165: Zeke Beach F Hunter LaRue (CSUB), 2:47
165: Nathan Tausch (Cal Poly) MD Zeke Beach, 16-5
184: Louis Rojas (CBU) MD Zane Davis, 11-3
197: Arick Lopez (CBU) DEC Brooks Sacharczyk, 6-0
285: Josiah Hill DEC Jarrod Snyder (CSUB), 4-2
285: Zach Schrader (CBU) F Josiah Hill, 2:10


Login or Register to post a comment