Cliff Keen WC tops NJRTC/SERTC to win RTC Cup

The Cliff Keen WC won the inaugural RTC Cup (Photo/Sam Janicki,

CINCINNATI -- The Cliff Keen Wrestling Club capped off an undefeated (4-0) weekend by winning the inaugural RTC Cup Saturday night in Cincinnati.

The Cliff Keen WC held a narrow 3-2 lead on the NJRTC/SERTC in the championship match before Mason Parris stepped on the mat to face Jordan Wood at 125 kilograms.

The junior world champion Parris, fresh of a win over two-time world bronze medalist Nick Gwiazdowski, clinched the title for the Cliff Keen WC by claiming a 12-1 technical superiority over Wood in the final match of the inaugural event.

Nahshon Garrett opened the dual with a win over Seth Gross (Photo/Sam Janicki,

Nahshon Garrett opened the championship dual with a convincing 12-4 win over Seth Gross at 57 kilograms to put the NJRTC/SERTC up 1-0. Garrett led 6-3 at the break and blew the match open early in the second period after getting a four-point exposure. He would add a late takedown to win by eight.

After dropping the first match, the Cliff Keen WC reeled off three consecutive victories.

Alec Pantaleo (Photo/Sam Janicki,

Alec Pantaleo won a hard-fought match, 8-6, over Matthew Kolodzik at 65 kilograms. Pantaleo scored two first-period takedowns and led 4-2 at the break. The second period saw a flurry that resulted in a two-two exchange. After a failed challenge by the NJRTC/SERTC, Pantaleo extended his lead to 7-4. Kolodzik cut the deficit to 7-6 after scoring a two-point exposure, but Pantaleo would add a step out and hold on to win by two. He finished the weekend a perfect 4-0.

At 74 kilograms, Senior Nationals champion Logan Massa edged junior world champion Mekhi Lewis 3-2 in a rematch from last year's Nationals finals. All the scoring occurred in the first period. Massa scored first with a step out. Lewis came back with a takedown to go up 2-1. Massa would come back with two more step outs, which would prove to be enough for him to earn the victory.

Myles Amine dominated Nate Jackson at 86 kilograms (Photo/Sam Janicki,

Myles Amine, San Marino's first-ever Olympic qualifier, turned in a dominating performance at 86 kilograms, cruising to a first-period technical superiority over Nate Jackson. Amine scored an early takedown before securing his leg lace and turning Jackson four times to go up 8-0. After Amine was awarded a point from a caution, he scored another takedown to close out the 11-0 technical superiority. His victory put the Cliff Keen WC up 3-1 with two matches remaining.

Ty Walz kept the NJRTC/SERTC's hopes alive by topping T.J. Dudley 5-1 at 97 kilograms. Walz led 1-0 at the break before pulling away in the second period on the strength of two takedowns.

Mason Parris defeated Jordan Wood by technical superiority (Photo/Sam Janicki,

Parris then sealed the deal with a 12-1 technical superiority over Wood at 125 kilograms. After a scoreless 90 seconds, Parris fired off a shot and scored two points, followed by another four and another two in the span of less than 15 seconds to go up 8-0. Wood would get on the scoreboard with a step out late in the first period. Parris closed out the victory in the second period, scoring with a crotch lift to go up 10-1. He then scored a takedown off a reattack with just over a minute remaining to close out the victory.

The Spartan Combat RTC finished third with a 4-2 win over the Wolfpack RTC.

Vito Arujau and Yianni Diakomihalis capped off undefeated tournaments with technical superiority shutouts at 57 kilograms and 65 kilograms.

The Hidlay brothers, Hayden and Trent, picked up much needed wins for the Wolfpack RTC to even the score at 2-2.

At 97 kilograms, Jacob Cardenas of the Spartan Combat RTC used a late four-point move to come from behind and beat Timmy McCall. That win put the Spartan Combat RTC up 3-2.

Dom Bradley then closed the dual meet with a 2-1 win over Michael Macchiavello, who moved up a weight class to fill in for Nick Gwiazdowski.

The Ohio RTC claimed fifth place with a 5-1 victory over the Gopher WC. Zach Sanders of the Gopher WC opened the dual with a win over Jack Mueller at 57 kilograms, but the Ohio RTC swept the remaining five matches. Getting wins for the Ohio RTC were Sammy Sasso (65 kilograms), Carson Kharchla (74 kilograms), Sammy Brooks (86 kilograms), Kollin Moore (97 kilograms) and Amar Dhesi (125 kilograms).

Placement Match Results

Championships: Cliff Keen WC df. NJRTC/SERTC, 4-2
57: Nahshon Garrett (NJRTC/SERTC) dec. Seth Gross (Cliff Keen WC), 12-4
65: Alec Pantaleo (Cliff Keen WC) dec. Matthew Kolodzik (NJRTC/SERTC), 8-6
74: Logan Massa (Cliff Keen WC) dec. Mekhi Lewis (NJRTC/SERTC), 3-2
86: Myles Amine (Cliff Keen WC) tech. Nate Jackson (NJRTC/SERTC), 11-0
97: Ty Walz (NJRTC/SERTC) dec. T.J. Dudley (Cliff Keen WC), 5-1
125: Mason Parris (Cliff Keen WC) tech. Jordan Wood (NJRTC/SERTC), 12-1

Third Place: Spartan Combat RTC df. Wolfpack RTC, 4-2
57: Vito Arujau (Spartan Combat RTC) tech. Darian Cruz (Wolfpack RTC), 11-0
65: Yianni Diakomihalis (Spartan Combat RTC) tech. Tariq Wilson (Wolfpack RTC), 11-0
74: Hayden Hidlay (Wolfpack RTC) tech. Jevon Balfour (Spartan Combat RTC), 11-0
86: Trent Hidlay (Wolfpack RTC) dec. Drew Foster (Spartan Combat RTC), 12-9
97: Jacob Cardenas (Spartan Combat RTC) dec. Timmy McCall (Wolfpack RTC), 7-4
125: Dom Bradley (Spartan Combat RTC) dec. Michael Macchiavello (Wolfpack RTC), 2-1

Fifth Place: Ohio RTC df. Gopher WC, 5-1
57: Zach Sanders (Gopher WC) dec. Jack Mueller (Ohio RTC), 8-6
65: Sammy Sasso (Ohio RTC) tech. Mitch McKee (Gopher WC), 14-4
74: Carson Kharchla (Ohio RTC) tech. Elroy Perkin (Gopher WC), 11-0
86: Sammy Brooks (Ohio RTC) dec. Brett Pfarr (Gopher WC), 2-1
97: Kollin Moore (Ohio RTC) dec. Hayden Zillmer (Gopher WC), 2-2
125: Amar Dhesi (Ohio RTC) dec. Anthony Nelson (Gopher WC), 3-2


Login or Register to post a comment

Tamal32 (1) about 2 months ago
Tamal32 (1) about 2 months ago
Tamal32 (1) about 2 months ago
[url=]les toits de paris[/url]
"link text":