Moore secures Ohio State's Big Ten Medal of Honor

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Kollin Moore earned the right to represent The Ohio State University as a 2020 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient. He named Ohio State's male recipient, while Jincy Dunne, a hockey player, was the female recipient.

The Big Ten Conference's most exclusive award was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university. B1G schools currently feature nearly 9,500 student-athletes, but only 28 pick up the recognition on an annual basis.

Moore, a native of Burbank, Ohio, finished as the Dan Hodge Trophy runner-up in his final season after sitting atop the 197-pound national rankings from start to finish. He garnered a 27-0 season record and was the NCAA Championships top seed. Moore ranks eighth in Ohio State history with a .909 career winning percentage (110-11). He is a three-time Big Ten champion and reached the NCAA finals in 2019. In the classroom, Moore earned a bachelor's degree in business operations management and is closing in on completion of a kinesiology master's degree during his five years as a Buckeye. He picked up Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors as well.


Login or Register to post a comment