Missouri claims ninth straight conference tournament crown

Missouri captured the MAC title (Photo/Missouri Athletics)

DeKALB, Ill. -- Mizzou Wrestling claimed its ninth-straight conference tournament title and eighth-straight MAC Tournament Championship, scoring 142.0 team points as the two-day event ended Sunday (March 8). Mizzou has won the MAC tournament every year since joining the league for the 2012-13 season, and dating back to 2011-12 when it won the Big 12 Tournament, Mizzou has won nine consecutive conference tournament titles. The Tigers finished 21 points ahead of second-place Central Michigan.

Individually, Mizzou sophomore 149-pounder Brock Mauller earned a title and Mizzou had seven wrestlers finish in the top three of their weight classes. Allan Hart (133), Jarrett Jacques (157) and Dylan Wisman (184) all earned runner-up nods.

Of course, the conference championships are a time to dole out NCAA allocations as well, and six Tigers ended Sunday with automatic qualifications to this month's NCAA Championships at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis. Joining Mauller is 133-pounder Hart (second place at MACs), 141-pounder Grant Leeth (third place at MACs), 157-pounder Jacques (second place at MACs), 174-pounder Connor Flynn (third place at MACs) and 184-pounder Wisman (second place at MACs).

Aside from Mauller, Flynn was the story of the day, winning three bouts to finish third and qualify for the NCAA Championships. He tech falled the conference's top seed at 174 to open the day, then pinned the No. 2 seed to move into the third-place bout. He grinded out a 7-0 decision to take home the bronze.

Final Team Standings:
Mizzou - 142.0
Central Michigan - 121.0
Northern Illinois - 90.5
Rider - 84.5
Lock Haven - 82.0
Old Dominion - 68.0
Cleveland State - 64.0
Ohio - 58.5
Kent State - 51.5
Buffalo - 49.5
Edinboro - 45.5
Clarion - 39.5
George Mason - 39.0
Bloomsburg - 32.5
SIU-Edwardsville - 31.0


Login or Register to post a comment