Iowa wins Big Ten title, crown 3 champions

Iowa's Alex Marinelli defeated Penn State's Vincenzo Joseph to claim the title at 165 pounds (Photo/Juan Garcia)

PISCATAWAY, New Jersey -- The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team won the 2020 Big Ten Championship on Sunday, scoring 157.5 team points and crowning three individual champions.

Alex Marinelli defended his 165-pound conference title, and Spencer Lee and Pat Lugo became first time champions, leading Iowa to its first outright team title since 2010 and its 36th conference title overall.

  • Spencer Lee was named Big Ten Conference Wrestler of the Year
  • Tom Brands was named Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year. It is the fourth time he has won the award (2008, 2009, 2010, 2020).
  • Iowa's team title is the 36th in program history, best in the Big Ten.
  • Iowa's point total (157.5) is its highest since 1995 (185).
  • Lee became the 114th wrestler in school history to win a Big Ten Conference title.
  • Lugo became the 115th wrestler in school history to win a Big Ten Conference title.
  • Marinelli became the first Hawkeye to win back-to-back titles since Sammy Brooks in 2016-17.

    IOWA 157.5
    Nebraska 132
    Ohio State 112
    Penn State 107
    Purdue 83.0
    Northwestern 79.5
    Michigan 73.0
    Minnesota 63.4
    Wisconsin 62.5
    Michigan State 57.0
    Illinois 49.0
    Rutgers 25.5
    Indiana 14.5
    Maryland 0.0
  • Comments

    Login or Register to post a comment