NAIA Wrestling National Championships qualifiers announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- (Qualifiers by weight class | Qualifiers by school | Qualifiers by conference) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletes (NAIA) has officially announced the qualifiers for the 2020 NAIA Wrestling National Championships hosted by Visit Wichita on Tuesday. The 63rd annual event takes place March 6-7 at Hartman Arena in Park City, Kan.

Conference champions in their respective weight class earn an automatic berth to the national championship. Conferences received additional allocations based on the amount of wrestlers ranked in each weight class in the final regular-season coaches' poll.

In addition to the automatic qualifiers, each conference was allowed three at-large individuals from any weight class. A 14-member national selection committee selected the remainder of the 240-wrestler field.

Eight-time defending national champion Grand View (Iowa) will be taking a full roster of 12 grapplers to the national championships. Reinhardt (Ga.) joins the Vikings with a full roster. Menlo (Calif.) is taking the third-most wrestlers with 11, while Campbellsville (Ky.), Life (Ga.), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) and Southeastern (Fla.) are a close fourth, taking a roster of ten.

The Mid-South Conference led all conferences with 61 individual qualifiers. The Cascade Collegiate Conference was second with 51 qualifiers.

Preliminary brackets will be announced Friday, Feb. 28.


Login or Register to post a comment