Clarion defeats Kent State

CLARION, Pa. -- The Golden Eagle wrestling team clinched a winning dual season with a dominant effort over Kent State on Friday, as Clarion defeated the Golden Flashes 30-8 at Tippin Gym. Clarion (9-5, 6-3 MAC East) took eight of the 10 bouts to claim their first win over Kent State since the 2000-01 season, snapping a nine-match losing streak to the Golden Flashes.

Brock Zacherl wrestled the final home dual of his Clarion career, defeating Kody Komara 3-2 in the 149-pound bout. The 12th-ranked wrestler in the most recent NCAA coaches' panel, Zacherl earned the distinction of an undefeated home dual record. He went 44-0 as an attached wrestler at home, and his victory over Komara marked the first win of the night for the Golden Eagles.

It would not be the last, though, as Clarion powered past the Golden Flashes, winning a number of close decisions to seal the win. Christian Sequete had one such decision, earning the first home dual win of his career with a 4-3 decision over Shane Mast. The win halted Kent State's momentum after they had scored their second major decision over the evening, and it put Clarion ahead 12-8 in the team match. The Golden Flashes never threatened the team score again as Greg Bulsak followed up with a 6-1 decision to Colin McCracken in the 197-pound bout.

Ty Bagoly locked up the team victory with a win by fall at 285 pounds, tossing Spencer Berthold to his back and pinning him just 45 seconds into the first period to make it a 21-8 advantage. Jake Gromacki followed up with a 6-5 decision over Tomas Guitierrez. Also recording wins were Taylor Ortz, who returned to the lineup at 157 pounds for a 10-6 win over Brady Chrisman, and Mike Bartolo, who beat Kade Byland by 12-8 decision.

141 - Cory Simpson (Kent State) over Brayden Palmer (Clarion) (MD 13-2)
149 - Brock Zacherl (Clarion) over Kody Komara (Kent State) (Dec 3-2)
157 - Taylor Ortz (Clarion) over Brady Chrisman (Kent State) (Dec 10-6)
165 - Mike Bartolo (Clarion) over Kade Byland (Kent State) (Dec 12-8)
174 - Andrew McNally (Kent State) over Jack Peura (Clarion) (MD 12-1)
184 - Christian Sequete (Clarion) over Shane Mast (Kent State) (Dec 4-3)
197 - Greg Bulsak (Clarion) over Colin McCracken (Kent State) (Dec 6-1)
285 - Ty Bagoly (Clarion) over Spencer Berthhold (Kent State) (Fall 0:45)
125 - Jake Gromacki (Clarion) over Tomas Guitierrez (Kent State) (Dec 6-5)
133 - Seth Koleno (Clarion) over Unknown (For.)


Login or Register to post a comment