Franklin & Marshall beats Millersville to secure Rupp Cup trophy

LANCASTER, Pa. -- Franklin & Marshall's wrestling team celebrated senior night with a commanding 23-10 win over Millersville on Thursday evening in Mayser, bringing the Rupp Cup trophy back to campus.

The Diplomats improved to 5-6 while the Marauders fell to 7-10.

Before the start of the annual rivalry, the Diplomats honored their six-member senior class of Cole Aaron, Brett Kulp, Emmett LiCastri, Reid Robilotto, Eli Smith, and Jimmy Stillerman.

F&M's win over crosstown rival Millersville marked the ninth in the last 10 meetings over the Marauders. To read more about the history of the Rupp Cup, click here.

Seven out of the 10 matchups on the night went the Diplomats way, including a pair of decision wins to open action by Cristiaan Dailey (149 pounds) and Noah Chan (157 pounds).

Millersville cut the team score to 6-3 heading into 174 pounds where Emmett LiCastri racked up five takedowns in a 19-3 tech. fall win.

A 6-4 decision by the Marauders at 184 pounds cut the F&M lead to 11-6 before the Diplomats rattled off three straight wins to put the contest out of reach for good. Ethan Seeley opened the run with a 3-0 decision at 197 pounds. He rode out his opponent for the entirety of the second frame before securing an escape in the third to clinch the bout.

Cenzo Pelusi took his competitor the distance at 285 pounds as the score remained tied at 3-3 following all six overtime frames. The Diplomat heavyweight held the edge on riding time, earning the tiebreaker, and awarding three points to the F&M team score.

Jose Diaz picked up a key takedown in the opening sudden victory period to capture a 5-3 decision win at 125 pounds, and Wil Gil collected four takedowns at 141 pounds to roll to a 10-3 decision win at 141 pounds.

The Diplomats return to EIWA action on Sunday, traveling to Penn for a 7:00 p.m. contest in the Palestra.

149: Cristiaan Dailey (F&M) over Jackson Erb (MILL) (Dec 4-2)
157: Noah Chan (F&M) over Brandon Connor (MILL) (Dec 4-3)
165: Jarrett Feeney (MILL) over Cole Aaron (F&M) (Dec 9-3)
174: Emmett LiCastri (F&M) over Malik Jackson (MILL) (TF 19-3 6:50)
184: Evan Morrill (MILL) over Crew Fullerton (F&M) (Dec 6-4)
197: Ethan Seeley (F&M) over Reece Muldoon (MILL) (Dec 3-0)
285: Cenzo Pelusi (F&M) over Joshua Walls (MILL) (TB-2 (RT) 3-3)
125: Jose Diaz (F&M) over Devin Flannery (MILL) (SV-1 5-3)
133: Jacob Lehman (MILL) over Jack Bruce (F&M) (MD 8-0)
141: Wil Gil (F&M) over Ryan McGuire (MILL) (Dec 10-3)


Login or Register to post a comment