App State improves to 4-0 in SoCon with win over Chattanooga

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. -- App State remained unbeaten in Southern Conference action with a 27-12 road victory against rival Chattanooga on Sunday.

The Mountaineers (7-2, 4-0) entered the dual in a three-way tie for first place with the Mocs (5-8, 3-1) and Campbell. Those three teams shared the SoCon regular-season title last season.

App State built a 22-3 lead behind wins from Codi Russell, Bradley Irwin, Jonathan Millner, Matt Zovistoski, Will Formato and Thomas Flitz before Cary Miller ended the dual with a tech fall via a shutout.

True freshman Sean Carter hung tough in a 6-5 loss to 19th-ranked Fabien Gutierrez to open the dual at 125 pounds, and the Mountaineers moved ahead 5-3 in the team score thanks to Russell's 21-6 tech fall against Colton Landers. App State's Bradley Irwin then responded with a second-period pin against Mason Wallace.

In a matchup of ranked wrestlers at 149, Millner (No. 21) posted a 6-3 decision against Tanner Smith (No. 24), and the Mountaineers took a 16-3 lead into intermission thanks to Zovistoski's 8-4 decision against Tyler Shilson at 157.

Formato then faced Chattanooga's Drew Nicholson for the second straight weekend and claimed a 2-1 decision at 165 pounds. With Formato possessing a 1-0 lead and more than a minute advantage in riding time, Nicholson got a tying escape in the third period but was quickly penalized a point for stalling. The riding time advantage fell under a minute, but Formato ended up with another victory against Nicholson.

Flitz earned a 5-2 decision against Hunter Fortner at 174 pounds, increasing App State's lead to 22-3, before Chattanooga won two straight matches with a pin from 20th-ranked Matthew Waddell at 184 pounds against Julian Gorring and Rodney Jones' 4-2 decision against Paul Carson at 197.

Miller wrapped up the dual with a 16-0 tech fall against Grayson Walthall.

The 2019-20 wrestling season is presented by Hungry Howies, and App State returns to action Saturday at The Citadel.

125: No. 19 Fabian Gutierrez (UTC) def. Sean Carter (APP), 6-5 dec.
133: Codi Russell (APP) def. Colton Landers (UTC), 21-5 tech fall
141: Bradley Irwin (APP) def. Mason Wallace (UTC), fall, 4:21
149: #21 Jonathan Millner (APP) def. No. 24 Tanner Smith (UTC), 6-3 dec.
157: #18 Matt Zovistoski (APP) def. Tyler Shilson (UTC), 8-4 dec.
165: Will Formato (APP) def. Drew Nicholson (UTC), 2-1 dec.
174: Thomas Flitz (APP) def. Hunter Fortner (UTC), 5-2 dec.
184: No. 20 Matthew Waddell (UTC) def. Julian Gorring (APP), fall, 2:53
197: Rodney Jones (UTC) def. Paul Carson (APP), 4-2 dec.
285: #24 Cary Miller (APP) vs. Grayson Walthall (UTC), 16-0 tech fall

* A point was deducted for postmatch misconduct at 141 pounds.


Login or Register to post a comment