Lehigh opens South Beach Duals with impressive 29-10 win over Minnesota

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. -- Sparked by junior lightweights Brandon Paetzell and Nick Farro, No. 14 Lehigh opened up action at the South Beach Duals with a convincing 29-10 triumph over No. 15 Minnesota on Sunday. Bonus point wins from Paetzell and Farro staked the Mountain Hawks to an early 9-0 lead and Lehigh never looked back.

The Mountain Hawks won seven bouts and produced bonus points in five of their seven victories to improve to 2-3 on the dual season.

"This is probably the best we've looked all year," Lehigh head coach Pat Santoro said. "We had been getting a little better each week but this was by far our best performance. The guys are wrestling hard and through all three periods. They're scoring late. Going for bonus point wins, which is huge. We have two more big ones tomorrow so we have to do the same thing tomorrow to build a little momentum."

Paetzell got things going with an 18-3 technical fall victory over Pat McKee at 125. An attacking style had Paetzell up 4-1 after one period and then up 10-2 after two following a takedown and two point near fall in the final seconds. Paetzell secured a four point near fall in the third period and added a takedown to go up and end the bout with three seconds remaining.

Farro also benefitted from a four point near fall in the third, breaking open a 5-2 match with a takedown and four near fall on the way to a 14-4 major decision over Jake Gliva at 133.

"Those early bonus points were huge," Santoro said. "Brandon was up against a really quality opponent and kept wrestling and ended up getting a tech fall. Nick followed by getting a major. That's a great way to start a dual meet."

Minnesota (2-3) picked up its first win of the day as third ranked Mitch McKee won a 10-0 major decision over senior Ryan Pomrinca at 141.

Lehigh picked up six points at 149 as sophomore Jimmy Hoffman won by disqualification over Brayton Lee. Hoffman suffered an injury to his leg that was the result of an illegal hold as Lee was bidding for a takedown. Because Hoffman was not able to finish the bout due to the injury sustained via illegal hold, he was awarded the victory by disqualification.

A dominant performance by sophomore Josh Humphreys over Carson Brolsma in an 11-0 major decision put the Mountain Hawks up 19-4 halfway through the dual.

The Golden Gophers picked up a second victory at 165 as Bailee O'Reilly defeated freshman Brian Meyer 8-5.

The featured bout of the dual matched third-ranked senior Jordan Kutler against No. 8 Devin Skatzka at 174. Kutler won his third bout against the Gopher in the last two years, with takedowns in each of the first two periods plus a third period rideout in a 6-1 decision.

Junior Chris Weiler followed Kutler with one of his best performances of the season in a 9-3 decision over 17th-ranked Owen Webster at 184. Weiler had two takedowns and two reversals and added 3:48 of riding time advantage.

At 197, junior Jake Jakobsen gave up an early takedown to Garrett Joles, but controlled the match thereafter. Jakobsen rode out the second period and added four near fall points, to take a 5-2 lead after two. In the third, Jakobsen scored a penalty point for locked hands, an escape, a takedown and riding time advantage to secure a 10-2 major decision.

Minnesota's second-ranked Gable Steveson capped the dual with an 8-0 major decision over junior Jordan Wood.

The Golden Gophers were docked a team point at the end of the dual for control of mat area.

The Mountain Hawks will wrap-up action at the South Beach Duals on Monday when they face Duke at 11 a.m. and No. 19 Missouri at 1 p.m.

The 2019-20 Lehigh wrestling season is presented by the Historic Hotel Bethlehem.

125 - Brandon Paetzell (Lehigh) tech fall Pat McKee (Minn) 18-3, 6:57
133 - Nick Farro (Lehigh) major dec. Jake Gliva (Minn) 14-4
141 - Mitch McKee (Minn) major dec. Ryan Pomrinca (Lehigh) 10-0
149 - Jimmy Hoffman (Lehigh) win by DQ Brayton Lee (Minn)
157 - Josh Humphreys (Lehigh) major dec. Carson Brolsma (Minn) 11-0
165 - Bailee O'Reilly (Minn) dec. Brian Meyer (Lehigh) 8-5
174 - Jordan Kutler (Lehigh) dec. Devin Skatkza (Minn) 6-1
184 - Chris Weiler (Lehigh) dec. Owen Webster (Minn) 9-3
197 - Jake Jakobsen (Lehigh) major dec. Garrett Joles (Minn) 10-2
285 - Gable Steveson (Minn) major dec. Jordan Wood (Lehigh) 8-0
* - Minnesota deducted a team point for control of mat area


Login or Register to post a comment