Valencia wins third CKLV title, while 3 others repeat; Nebraska claims team title

ASU's Zahid Valencia was named Outstanding Wrestler at the CKLV (Photo/Sam Janicki,

LAS VEGAS -- Arizona State's Zahid Valencia entered this year's Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational with an undefeated record in the tournament. After winning CKLV titles as a freshman and sophomore, the Sun Devils did not compete last year in Las Vegas.

On Saturday, Valencia kept his undefeated CKLV record intact as he cruised to his third straight title -- first at 184 pounds -- and claimed Outstanding Wrestler honors. He earned bonus point victories in all five of his matches. The Sun Devil senior opened with two falls. He then won by technical fall in the quarterfinals before getting major decisions in both the semifinals and finals. Valencia's finals victory came over NC State freshman Trent Hidlay, 12-4.

Three other wrestlers repeated as champions: Northwestern's Ryan Deakin (157), Nebraska's Isaiah White (165) and Ohio State's Kollin Moore (197).

Ryan Deakin defeated No. 1 Hayden Hidlay to earn the title at 157 pounds (Photo/Mark Lundy,

Deakin, a returning All-American, had himself a weekend. The Northwestern junior entered the tournament as the No. 2 seed at 157 pounds. After outscoring his first three opponents 19-5 on Friday, Deakin handled previously unbeaten freshman David Carr of Iowa State in the semifinals on Saturday, 9-3. He then defeated No. 1 Hayden Hidley of NC State in the finals, 6-2.

White edged Arizona State's Josh Shields, 3-1 in sudden victory, to take the title at 165 pounds. Moore rolled to a 16-6 major decision in the 197-pound finals over Purdue's Christian Brunner.

Minnesota's Brayton Lee (149) was the lone freshman to win a title in Las Vegas. He topped fellow freshman Sammy Sasso of Ohio State in the finals, 6-4.

Other champions included Virginia's Jack Mueller (125), Cornell's Chas Tucker (133), Ohio State's Luke Pletcher (141), Purdue's Dylan Lydy (174) and Michigan's Mason Parris (285).

Nebraska claimed the team title (Photo/Mark Lundy,

Nebraska claimed the team title, finishing with 118 points, 8.5 points ahead of Ohio State. The Buckeyes had won the previous three CKLV team titles. Arizona State finished in third place with 103 points. Northern Iowa and Purdue finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Placement match results

1st: No. 2 Jack Mueller (Virginia) dec. No. 9 Devin Schroder (Purdue), 6-2
3rd: Michael DeAugustino (Northwestern) dec. Joey Prata (Virginia Tech), 5-2
5th: No. 6 Alex Mackall (Iowa State) dec. No. 19 Brandon Courtney (Arizona State), 8-5
7th: No. 16 Jacob Schwarm (Northern Iowa) pinned Malik Heinselman (Ohio State), 1:38

1st: No. 7 Chas Tucker (Cornell) dec. No. 8 Montorie Bridges (Wyoming), 4-1
3rd: Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) dec. Todd Small (Iowa State), 7-1
5th: Mosha Schwartz (Northern Colorado) dec. Dylan Koontz (Ohio State), 6-5
7th: No. 15 Anthony Madrigal (Oklahoma) dec. No. 20 Tim Rooney (Kent State), 3-1 SV

1st: No. 1 Luke Pletcher (Ohio State) dec. No. 4 Mitch McKee (Minnesota), 10-6
3rd: No. 2 Dom Demas (Oklahoma) tech. fall No. 13 Ian Parker (Iowa State), 19-4
5th: No. 6 Chad Red (Nebraska) maj. dec. Michael Blockhus (Northern Iowa), 16-6
7th: No. 12 Tariq Wilson (NC State) dec. No. 18 Mitch Moore (Virginia Tech), 5-3 SV

1st: No. 9 Brayton Lee (Minnesota) dec. No. 12 Sammy Sasso (Ohio State), 6-4
3rd: No. 19 Yahya Thomas (Northwestern) dec. No. 7 Griffin Parriott (Purdue), 10-3
5th: No. 5 Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa) by medical forfeit over No. 6 Jarrett Degen (Iowa State)
7th: No. 8 Brock Zacherl (Clarion) dec. No. 13 Collin Purinton (Nebraska), 5-3

1st: No. 2 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) dec. No. 1 Hayden Hidlay (NC State), 6-2
3rd: No. 3 David Carr (Iowa State) dec. No. 8 Kendall Coleman (Purdue), 4-0
5th: Jacob Wright (Fresno State) by medical forfeit over No. 14 Justin Thomas (Oklahoma)
7th: Peyton Robb (Nebraska) dec. Jacori Teemer (Arizona State), 5-0

1st: No. 4 Isaiah White (Nebraska) dec. No. 5 Josh Shields (Arizona State), 3-1 SV
3rd: No. 13 Thomas Bullard (NC State) pinned No. 12 Ethan Smith (Ohio State), 6:23
5th: No. 8 Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State) pinned Shayne Oster (Northwestern), 1:44
7th: No. 14 Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) dec. Bailee O'Reilly (Minnesota), 10-3

1st: No. 7 Dylan Lydy (Purdue) dec. No. 4 Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa), 3-1 SV
3rd: No. 5 Mike Labriola (Nebraska) dec. No. 9 Devin Skatzka (Minnesota), 7-5 SV
5th: No. 8 Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) by medical forfeit over Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley)
7th: No. 19 Hayden Hastings (Wyoming) pinned Brandon Womack (Cornell), 6:55

1st: No. 1 Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) maj. dec. No. 4 Trent Hidlay (NC State), 12-4
3rd: No. 9 Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 3 Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa), 9-7
5th: No. 6 Taylor Venz (Nebraska) pinned No. 5 Lou DePrez (Binghamton), 1:29
7th: No. 7 Ben Darmstadt (Cornell) by medical forfeit over No. 15 Jelani Embree (Michigan)

1st: No. 1 Kollin Moore (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 17 Christian Brunner (Purdue), 16-6
3rd: No. 12 Thomas Lane (Cal Poly) dec. No. 16 Jake Woodley (Oklahoma), 4-2
5th: No. 10 Eric Schultz (Nebraska) dec. Greg Bulsak (Clarion), 4-2
7th: Jacob Seely (Northern Colorado) dec. No. 7 Jay Aiello (Virginia), 7-3

1st: No. 2 Mason Parris (Michigan) dec. No. 6 Tanner Hall (Arizona State), 6-3
3rd: No. 5 Tate Orndorff (Utah Valley) dec. No. 16 Gannon Gremmel (Iowa State), 3-2
5th: No. 20 Carter Isley (Northern Iowa) dec. No. 13 Christian Lance (Nebraska), 3-1
7th: John Borst (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 14 Brian Andrews (Wyoming), 6-2


Login or Register to post a comment