Bonus points carry NDSU past Augustana

FARGO, N.D. -- North Dakota State won eight bouts including a pair of tech falls and four major decisions to defeat Augustana University 32-9 in a non-conference dual on Sunday, Dec. 1, in Scheels Center. It was the first meeting between the two former North Central Conference combatants since Feb. 1, 2004.

North Dakota State (3-2, 0-0 Big12) is scheduled to send wrestlers to compete in the Cliff Keen Collegiate Invitational on Dec. 6-7 in Las Vegas.

Augustana (0-2, 0-0 NSIC) jumped to an early 9-0 lead thanks to a forfeit at 125 pounds and Brandon Carroll's 10-6 over freshman Tyler Jones at 133.

NDSU then reeled off eight straight wins. Dylan Droegemueller led 3-2 in the third period, but used a pair of 4-point near falls to put together a 14-2 major decision. Droegemueller notched his first collegiate dual win and improved to 5-2 overall.

Jaden Van Maanen (1-4, 1-4) broke a four-match losing streak to start the season with a hard-fought 4-0 decision over Keaten Schorr at 149 pounds, while 157 Jared Franek (7-2, 3-2) muscled his way to a 16-5 major decision to put the Bison ahead for the first time at 11-9.

Bonus point wins continued as No. 8-ranked 165-pounder Andrew Fogarty (9-0, 5-0) recorded his third tech fall of the season, 15-0 at 4:41, while 174 Lorenzo De La Riva (1-1, 1-1) and 184 Noah Cressell (3-3, 2-1) followed with major decisions.

Turning in the afternoon's most impressive performance was 197-pound redshirt junior Cole Witzig (6-4, 1-0), who tilted his way to a 16-1 tech fall in 2:17. He led 10-0 in the first minute. It was the first tech fall for Witzig since his freshman year, who also picked up his first collegiate dual win.

NDSU redshirt senior 285-pounder Dan Stibral (3-2, 1-0) closed out the dual with a 2-0 decision over Steven Hajas. Stibral gained an escape early in the second period and held the top position for the entire third period for the win.

125: Ethan Cota (AUG), Forfeit
133: Brandon Carroll (AUG) dec Tyler Jones (NDSU), 10-6
141: Dylan Droegemueller (NDSU) major dec Hunter Burnett (AUG), MD 14-2
149: Jaden Van Maanen (NDSU) dec Keaten Schorr (AUG), 4-0
157: Jared Franek (NDSU) major dec Jacob Tvinnereim (AUG), MD 16-5
165: #8 Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) tech fall Dylan Schuck (AUG), TF 15-0 4:41
174: Lorenzo De La Riva (NDSU) major dec Ben Kelvington (AUG), MD 12-4
184: Noah Cressell (NDSU) major dec Tanner Brengle (AUG), MD 13-4
197: Cole Witzig (NDSU) tech fall Jarret Haglund (AUG), TF 16-1 2:17
285: Dan Stibral (NDSU) dec Steven Hajas (AUG), 2-0


Login or Register to post a comment