Takedown Report analysis of NJCAA championship coaches

Over the past month or so, the Takedown Report blog has provided an analysis of the top college wrestling coaches in NCAA Division I, II and III who can claim the most team titles ... and InterMat has provided links to those TDR reports.

Now TDR has recently posted its detailed analysis of the most successful coaches at wrestling programs at two-year colleges that are members of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA).

The first National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Wrestling Championships were held in 1960. In the 60 years since, there have been 64 championship teams. (How's that possible? In four years, two teams tied for the title.)

Luke Moffitt
"North Idaho College has the top coach in John Owen who led his teams to eight championships," according to Martin Fleming's analysis of NJCAA wrestling programs for Takedown Report. "North Idaho also has the most team championships with 14. The first two were in the mid-1970s with Les Hogan as the head coach. Then Pat Whitcomb coached four more championship teams after Owen."

TDR's Fleming goes on to point out that three coaches are tied for second with six titles each: Rex Branum (his first two team titles were at Lincoln College, then onto Lassen College in California) ... Luke Moffitt of Iowa Central ... and Joe Renfro (first at Labette Community College in Kansas, then at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M).

That's just the beginning of Fleming's analysis of the most successful junior college wrestling programs ... and the coaches behind that success. Visit TakeDown Report to see the details yourself.

Questions? Comments? Contact TDR editor Martin Fleming directly at


Login or Register to post a comment

cradleman (1) about 1 year ago
Only Eastern team to win the overall tournament was back in 1972 by 1/2 point. SUNY FARMINGDALE. Pretty special moment and a close and exciting finish.