Minnesota crowns 5 champs at Bison Open

Across the border in Fargo, North Dakota, the Gopher wrestling team battled their way to five individual titles.

The Gophers had 15 individuals reach the semifinals, including having three semifinalists at 157-pounds. By the end, 12 Gophers had placed in the top-three.

Across over 55 combined victories on Saturday, 17 came from pins and 35 total were bonus point victories.

At 174-pounds Devin Skatzka dominated his bracket with three consecutive pins to start the tournament. After pinning his first opponent in 2:55, he stuck his next two foes in 1:23 and 0:39, respectively. Skatzka ran away with an 18-6 major decision in the championship bout.

Mitch McKee also showed off his skills at 141-pounds with a pair of technical falls and pins to run his way to the title with four bonus point victories. McKee pinned his opponent in 16 seconds in the final title.

Brent Jones also won a title at 133-pounds. (Please note TrackWrestling corrected the score after the conclusion.)

The Gophers other two titles came at both 125-pound and 149-pounds where Gophers faced-off in the final bouts. Pat McKee took the victory over Jake Gliva while Brayton Lee defeated Jakob Bergeland.

Out of all the freshman, 157-pound Baylor Fernandes had the best performance with a fourth-place finish.

All wrestlers competed unattached.


Login or Register to post a comment

coolbeans (1) about 1 year ago
Congratulations to the five champions with a special shout out to Brent Jones, Jakob Bergland and Brayton Lee!

Great job Mitch McKee. All TF and pins. But you need a haircut ...

It looks like the pinning crown has gone from Pat McKee to Devin Skatzka (3 a piece) for now. In general a good showing!