Strong field expected for 58th Brecksville Holiday Tournament

One of the long-standing events of the between Christmas and New Year's holiday period is the Brecksville Holiday Tournament, which is in its 58th consecutive year being just held south of Cleveland. This year's event features a strong field anchored by three nationally ranked teams - No. 7 Detroit Catholic Central (Mich.), No. 28 Elyria, and No. 40 Brecksville; those three teams have won the event in the three previous seasons, going in order from most recent to least recent.

Below is a listing of the notable contenders in each of the weight classes (wrestlers are from Ohio unless noted).

106 pounds: No. 3 Kyle Rowan (Perry), No. 12 Casey Swiderski (Dundee, Mich.); Nic Willingham (Aurora)

113: No. 11 Jacob Decatur (CVCA), No. 18 Jacob Moran (Portage, Ind.)' Casey Barnett (Milan Edison), Nick Kohorn (Lowell, Mich.), Jacob Moon (Oregon Clay)

120: Jake Canitano (Solon), Garrett Lautzenheiser (Louisville), Kysen Montgomery (Brownsburg, Ind.), Gavin Ritter (Wauseon)

126: No. 9 Dylan Shawver (Elyria); Jimmy Carmany (Brecksville), Cole McComas (Beaver Local), Connor McCrone (Lake Catholic), Brock Peele (Portage, Ind.), Davin Rhoads (Louisville), Raymond Rioux (Avon, Ind.)

132: No. 2 Jordan Decatur (CVCA), No. 18 Asa Garcia (Avon, Ind.), No. 19 Mick Burnett (Elyria); Dominick Lomazzo (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.)

138: No. 12 Marco Regalbuto (Brecksville), No. 16 (at 132) Josh Edmond (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.); Caden Blust (Tiffin Columbian), Christian Killion (Dundee, Mich.), Drew Kreitzer (Brownsburg, Ind.), Blake Saito (Perrysburg), Matt Zuckerman (Elyria)

145: Stoney Buell (Dundee, Mich.), Brody Conley (Tiffin Columbian), Andrew Garr (Aurora), Derek Gilcher (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.), Avry Mutschler (Lowell, Mich.)

152: No. 2 Cameron Amine (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.), No. 7 Austin Boone (Lowell, Mich.), No. 17 Victor Voinovich (Brecksville); Nick Burgard (Ashtabula St. John), Nathan Conley (Avon, Ind.), Walker Heard (Marysville), Jax Leonard (Louisville), Enrique Munguia (Elyria), Micah Norwood (Bishop Hartley)

160: No. 5 (at 145) Kevon Davenport (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.), No. 13 Jacob Lagoa (Ashtabula Lakeside), No. 14 Donnell Washington (Portage, Ind.); David Cumberledge (Ashtabula St. John)

170: No. 1 Carson Kharchla (Olentangy Liberty), No. 17 Nevan Snodgrass (Kettering Fairmont); Jake Evans (Elyria), Ethan Hernandez (Norwalk), Manuel Rojas (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.), Beau Smith (Beaver Local), Xavier Torres (Wauseon)

182: No. 20 Anthony D'Alesio (Canfield); Evan Anderson (Aurora), Carson Brewer (Avon, Ind.), Cole Hivnor (Lake Catholic)

195: Nick Crawford (Canfield), Jordan Greer (Avon), Ethan Hatcher (Brecksville), Easton Turner (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.)

220: Lawson Aiken (Brownsburg, Ind.), Josh Bever (Ashland), Jarin Curtis (Massillon Perry), Tyler Stein (Canfield), Breslin Walker (CVCA), Caleb Wood (Fremont Ross), Brendin Yatooma (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.)

285: Tyler Deloof (Lowell, Mich.), Steven Kolcheff (Detroit Catholic Central, Mich.), Max Millin (Massillon Perry)


Login or Register to post a comment