Lefever Named Wrestler of the Year

Riley Lefever

Wabash College senior wrestler added another award to his list of honors by being named the 2017 Wrestler of the Year Wednesday morning.

Lefever repeated as the honoree after winning the award in 2016. He captured his fourth consecutive national title earlier in the month, winning the 197-pound weight class at the 2017 NCAA DIII Wrestling National Championship Tournament in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Lefever won three titles at 184 pounds in 2014, 2015, and 2016. He joined Augsburg's Marcus LeVesseur as the only NCAA Division III wrestlers to capture four national titles. LeVesseur won tournament titles in 2003, 2004, 2005, and 2007. Lefever became the 11th wrestler overall at any division in NCAA history to win four titles.

Lefever finished his career 129-0 in matches versus DIII opponents. In addition to the national championship, he was named the 2017 NCAA DIII Most Dominant Wrestler by averaging 5.79 points per match over the course of the season. He also earned the National Wrestling Coaches Association Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Meet Award for his performance at the 2017 championship event.

Lefever dominated Division III wrestling over his four seasons of competition. In his 129 victories, 73 came by pin in addition to 18 technical fall wins. He captured his fourth national title with a second-period pin --- one of three pins in his four victories at the championship event. An excellent student as well as a talented wrestler, Lefever was named to the prestigious Academic All-America Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America in 2016. He was named to the National Wrestling Coaches Association Scholar All-America Team in 2017 for third time in his career. He also serves as the head resident assistant at Wabash.


Login or Register to post a comment