Buffalo downs NIU for program-best fourth MAC dual win

DeKALB, IL -- The University at Buffalo wrestling team made history on Sunday, defeating Northern Illinois, 20-17, for their fourth Mid-American Conference win of the season - a program record. It was also UB's 10th overall dual win of the year, marking the second straight season the Bulls have won 10 duals.

"We wrestled well," head coach John Stutzman said. "I'm so excited for this team and the future of this program. Hats off to NIU. They wrestled hard, but after a long, hard road trip, we found a way."

Northern Illinois won the first two duals to jump out to a 6-0 lead. Brett Perry got the Bulls on the board with a 3-1 decision over Bryce Gorman to cut the NIU advantage to 6-3. Nate Rose followed with a close loss at 197, losing in overtime to 12th-ranked Shawn Scott, 4-2. The Bulls found themselves trailing, 9-3.

Jake Gunning won the first of four straight duals for the Bulls as the redshirt-sophomore earned a 3-2 decision over Caleb Gossett to improve to 12-3 in duals this season.

Justin Patrick won a 12-3 major decision over Kirk Johansen at 125 lbs. It was Patrick's first MAC dual win of the season.

Bryan Lantry followed with another dominant performance. The nation's 16th-ranked wrestler at 133 lbs. will likely see his ranking rise after a 16-7 major decision over Alijah Jeffery.

Jason Estevez capped the win with a pin of Anthony Rubino at the 4-minute mark. It was Estevez's third pin of the season.

Buffalo improved to 10-6 overall and 4-4 in the MAC. The Bulls have won double-digit duals in consecutive seasons for the first time since 2001. The four MAC wins are their most since joining the conference in 1998.

Buffalo will close out the regular season at Binghamton on Friday night.

165: Shaun'Que McMurty (NIU) won by decision over Tyler Rill (UB), 7-6
174: Trace Engelkes (NIU) won by decision over Muhamed McBryde (UB), 4-2
184: Brett Perry (UB) won by decision over Bryce Gorman (NIU), 3-1
197: Shawn Scott (NIU) won by sudden victory over Nate Rose (UB), 4-2
285: Jake Gunning (UB) won by decision over Caleb Gossett, 3-2
125: Justin Patrick (UB) won by major decision over Kirk Johansen (NIU), 12-3
133: #16 Bryan Lantry (UB) won by major decision over Alijah Jeffery (NIU), 16-7
141: Jason Estevez (UB) won by fall over Anthony Rubino (NIU), 4:00
149: Steve Bleise (NIU) won by technical fall over Colt Cotten (UB), 19-4
157: Caden McWhirter (NIU) won by decision over Alex Smythe (UB), 7-2


Login or Register to post a comment