No. 41 Apple Valley wins Council Bluffs Wrestling Classic; Teske, Thomsen remain undefeated

No. 41 Apple Valley, Minn. traveled south to the Council Bluffs Wrestling Classic in Iowa this past weekend. The Eagles amassed 622 points to dominate the tournament, with 12 wrestlers finishing among the top eight wrestlers in their respective weight class. Four finalists anchored the effort: Nate Larson (145) and No. 1 Gable Steveson (285) earned championships, while Kyle Rathman (138) and Tony Watts (160) finished as runners-up. In his championship match, Steveson dominated No. 15 Kayne Hutchison (Pittsburg, Kansas) to the tune of a 16-3 major decision.

Taking second in the tournament was No. 42 Fort Dodge, Iowa with 449-1/2 points. Three wrestlers won weight class championships: Drew Bennett (113), No. 8 Brody Teske (120), and Triston Lara (138); Bennett upset No. 13 Kyle Biscoglia (Waukee, Iowa) 3-2 in the championship match, while Teske extended his consecutive matches won streak to over 100 to start his high school career. Finishing second was Cayd Lara (138), while Jeremy Ayala (106) placed third; however, only two other wrestlers finished inside the top eight.

Other nationally ranked wrestlers to win their respective weight classes were No. 10 Alex Thomsen (Underwood, Iowa) at 126 pounds, No. 20 Nelson Brands (Iowa City West, Iowa) at 152, No. 9 Marcus Coleman (Ames, Iowa) at 170, and No. 12 Clay Lautt (St. James Academy, Kansas) at 160.

Thomsen beat three-time state placer McGwire Midkiff (Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson, Iowa) 12-5 in the championship match to remain undefeated for his high school career; Brands outlasted two-time state placer Cayd Lara 9-7 in the final; Coleman beat Junior National freestyle All-American Sammy Cokeley (St. James Academy, Kansas) 12-9 in the final; while Lautt outlasted two-time state placer Anthony Sherry (Glenwood, Iowa) 7-6 in his final.

Rounding out the weight class champions were Keegan Slyter (Olathe North, Kansas) at 106 pounds, Conner Ward (Mill Valley, Kansas) at 132, Mac Southard (Lewis Central, Iowa) at 160, Dylan Prince (Pittsburg, Kansas) at 195, and Tom Rief (Missouri Valley, Iowa) at 220.


Login or Register to post a comment