EIWA Hall of Fame Class of 2017 announced

Mack Lewnes, Gerry Maurey, Dick Santoro and Greg Strobel have been announced as members of the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The four honorees will be welcomed into the EIWA Hall of Fame on Saturday, March 4, 2017 immediately before the finals of the 2017 EIWA championships at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pa.

Mack Lewnes (Photo/Tony Rotundo)
Mack Lewnes, Cornell University class of 2011, joined the exclusive club of four-time EIWA champions during his career as a Big Red wrestler. Lewnes was also a three-time NCAA Division I All-American, compiling a 150-12 record, with 55 pins. As of now, Lewnes still holds the all-time Cornell record for most wins and pins.

Gerry Maurey, a 1954 graduate of Penn State, was a two-time EIWA champ, winning back-to-back conference crowns as a junior and senior. Maurey earned All-American honors at the 1954 NCAAs by placing third at 137 pounds. After graduation, Maurey spent many years in coaching, including five seasons at his high school alma mater, Clearfield (Pennsylvania) as well as at Bloomsburg and Florida A&M.

Richard "Dick" Santoro, Lehigh University class of 1959, is one of only two Lehigh wrestlers to go undefeated in dual meets during his entire collegiate career. The Bethlehem, Pa. native won EIWA titles in his junior and senior years, and was a 1958 NCAA All-American at 147 pounds. After graduation, Santoro spent over 30 years officiating college and high school wrestling matches in the mid-Atlantic region.

Greg Strobel, Lehigh head coach from 1994-2008, grew up in Oregon, where he was a three-time high school state champ, and a two-time NCAA titlist at Oregon State, earning Outstanding Wrestler honors in 1973. At the helm at Lehigh, Strobel took the Mountain Hawks to a 189-83-1 dual-meet record, tallying six EIWA team titles. His wrestlers captured 28 individual EIWA championships, while two won NCAA titles: Ron Rohn in 2002, and Troy Letters in 2004.

"The Committee is proud to announce the election of four outstanding wrestlers and individuals into the EIWA conference Hall of Fame," said EIWA Hall of Fame Committee Chairman Jamie Moffatt. "Each one of them has distinguished himself on the wrestling mats as an EIWA champion wrestler and/or coach and official. All four were team and conference leaders either during the EIWA 'Golden Years' of the 1950s or the most recent millennium. We welcome them into our Hall of Fame."


Login or Register to post a comment