Six returning champs, 4 freshmen reach finals in Las Vegas

Cornell's Gabe Dean advanced to the finals (Photo/Mark Lundy,

LAS VEGAS -- Six returning champions punched their tickets to the finals of Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational on Saturday.

Those wrestlers include Ohio State wrestlers Nathan Tomasello (133) and Micah Jordan (149), Cornell wrestlers Brian Realbuto (174) and Gabe Dean (184), as well as Wisconsin's Isaac Jordan (165) and Virginia Tech's Ty Walz (285).

MIchigan's Logan Massa defeated ASU's Anthony Valencia in the semifinals (Photo/Mark Lundy,

Four freshmen earned spots in the finals: Ohio State's Jose Rodriguez (125), Arizona State's Zahid Valencia (174) and Michigan wrestlers Stevan Micic (133) and Logan Massa (165).

Returning NCAA champion Myles Martin of Ohio State was defeated in the semifinals at 184 pounds by Virginia Tech's Zack Zavatasky, 6-4.

Wisconsin grabbed the lead in the team standings heading in the finals. The Badgers have two finalists and seven placewinners. Ohio State sits in second place, followed by Virginia Tech.

The final round is scheduled to begin at 3 p.m. PT. InterMat will continue its live blog coverage.

Semifinal Results

No. 2 Joey Dance (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 14 Sean Russell (Edinboro), 4-2
Jose Rodriguez (Ohio State) tech. fall Trey Andrews (Northern Colorado), 17-1

No. 3 Nathan Tomasello (Ohio State) dec. No. 18 Mark Grey (Cornell), 8-3
No. 9 Stevan Micic (Michigan) dec. Mitchell McKee (Minnesota), 9-7 SV

No. 2 Joey McKenna (Stanford) maj. dec. No. 16 Logan Everett (Army), 10-2
No. 7 Bryce Meredith (Wyoming) dec. Russell Rohlfing (CSU Bakersfield), 5-4

No. 8 Pat Lugo (Edinboro) dec. No. 5 Solomon Chishko (Virginia Tech), 5-3
No. 6 Micah Jordan (Ohio State) dec. No. 7 Justin Oliver (Central Michigan), 9-4

No. 10 Collin Heffernan (Central Michigan) dec. Joshua Shields (Arizona State), 6-3
Jake Short (Minnesota) by injury default over No. 20 Sal Mastriani (Virginia Tech

No. 2 Isaac Jordan (Wisconsin) pinned No. 16 Austin Matthews (Edinboro), 1:45
No. 6 Logan Massa (Michigan) maj. dec. No. 9 Anthony Valencia (Arizona State), 17-4

No. 5 Brian Realbuto (Cornell) dec. No. 13 Jim Wilson (Stanford), 12-5
No. 7 Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) maj. dec. No. 10 Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State), 10-2

No. 1 Gabe Dean (Cornell) pinned No. 11 Jordan Ellingwood (Central Michigan), 2:55
No. 8 Zack Zavatsky (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 2 Myles Martin (Ohio State), 6-4

No. 2 Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) maj. dec. No. 12 Kollin Moore (Ohio State), 15-7
No. 3 Jared Haught (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 6 Jake Smith (West Virginia), 6-4 SV

No. 2 Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) dec. No. 8 Michael Kroells (Minnesota), 4-2
No. 3 Ty Walz (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 4 Tanner Hall (Arizona State), 5-3


Login or Register to post a comment