Somar Shootout with top California, U.S. wrestlers set for Oct. 15 at Mt. San Antonio College

Jayson Ness works to turn Aaron Pico at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials (Photo/Jeff Beshey, The Guillotine)

Jordan Oliver, Jayson Ness, Reece Humphrey, B.J. Futrell, Haley Augello and Victoria Anthony -- along with some of the top women's wrestlers in California -- will take to the mats for the Somar Shootout Dual Takedown Tournament in suburban Los Angeles on Saturday, October 15.

The event -- consisting of a Girls Dual Takedown Tournament, and an Elite Match-Up main event -- will take place at Mt. San Antonio College (Mt. SAC) in Walnut, Calif.

Girls Dual Takedown Tournament

The Somar Shootout starts at 9 a.m. with the Girls Dual Takedown Tournament, featuring four teams from Southern California, and two teams from Central California who will wrestle in two pools of three teams each. At the end of the pool competition the two second-place teams will face each other, as will the two third-place teams.

The two top teams from the Girls Dual Takedown Tournament will face each other in the undercard for the main event at 5 p.m.

The Girls Dual Takedown Tournament will be wrestled under folkstyle rules, with some scoring modifications. Matches last three minutes. A wrestler who wins her match by a 5-0 score earns six points for her team. A match won before end of regulation earns five points, while a wrestler winning within regulation puts three points on the board for her team. A losing wrestler who scores three or four points during the match gives her team two points; a loser who scores 1-2 points earns one point for her team.

Elite Match-Up main event

At 7 p.m., it's the Elite Match-Up main event, featuring these top U.S. wrestlers:

  • Jordan Oliver vs. Jayson Ness: Oliver, a two-time NCAA champ (2011, 2013) for Oklahoma State and three-time Pennsylvania state champion for Easton High School, takes on Ness, 2010 NCAA champ, Most Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament and Dan Hodge Trophy recipient as the nation's best wrestler for the University of Minnesota.

  • Reece Humphrey vs. B.J. Futrell: Humphrey, a two-time NCAA All-American for Ohio State, and three-time Indiana state champion at Lawrence North, faces Futrell, a two-time All-American for University of Illinois and two-time Illinois state titlewinner for Mt. Carmel High School.

  • Haley Augello vs. Victoria Anthony: Augello, two-time WCWA college nationals champion for King University who represented the U.S. at the 2016 Rio Olympics, goes up against Anthony, four-time WCWA champion for Simon Fraser University in Canada and 2014 gold medalist at the Pan American Games.

    The Elite Match-Up main event bouts will be wrestled by freestyle rules, with some unique scoring aspects for this event. Each match consist of first to 5 takedowns (3 push outs count after 3 offensive wrestler gets leg choice) or two 1:30 periods. Wrestlers will be paid a flat rate, with a fifty percent bonus to the winner, and an additional fifty percent bonus for a win by ending a match prior to end of regulation.

    Tickets may be purchased online or at the door. Tickets purchased online in advance with arrival before noon will cost $15 each -- a $5 discount for early arrival. Otherwise, ticket buyers will pay $20 at the door before noon, or $30 for arriving after noon. Five dollars of each ticket will go to either the Mt. San Antonio wrestling, or to a wrestler/program of the ticket purchaser's choice. To purchase tickets online, visit
  • Comments

    Login or Register to post a comment