Simpson, Tovey NWCA Scholastic Coaches of the Year

The National Wrestling Coaches Association has named Pat Simpson of Father Ryan High School in Nashville, Tenn. as Head Coach of the Year, and Doug Tovey of Hermiston High School in Hermiston, Ore. as selected Assistant Coach of the Year, the organization announced .

Winners were selected from a pool of state and regional winners by the NWCA's Scholastic Board of Directors.

"Both Coach Simpson and Coach Tovey have long careers in coaching at the high school level and have served as tremendous mentors for our next generation of teachers and coaches," said NWCA Executive Director Mike Moyer. "One of the hardest things about recognizing great scholastic coaches is there are so many viable and deserving coaches to consider."

Simpson has coached at Father Ryan for 38 years. The long-time coach had considered the 2015-16 team his best, having posted a 22-0 record and claimed state championships at the Division II individual and dual tournaments, having topped another state power, Baylor, was the second largest margin in state duals history.

Tovey has served as a coach for 27 years, with the last four at Hermiston. This past season, the Bulldogs went 17-2, including a 5-1 record at The Clash National Wrestling Duals in Minnesota. Tovey helped Hermiston claim the 5A state championships, with eight individual placewinners, seven finalists and four state champions.

NWCA Scholastic Head Coach of the Year Sectional Winners
Section 1: John Stout, Southern Regional H.S., Manahawkin, N.J.
Section 2: Bill Swink, Colonial Forge H.S., Stafford, Va.
Section 3: Pat Simpson, Father Ryan H.S., Nashville, Tenn.
Section 4: Travis Young, Valley H.S., West Des Moines, Iowa
Section 5: Tyler Herman, Amherst H.S., Amherst, Neb.
Section 6: Matt Surber, Tuttle H.S., Tuttle, Okla.
Section 7: Troy Tirapelle, Buchanan H.S., Clovis, Calif.
Section 8: Craig Hanson, East Valley H.S., Spokane, Wash.

NWCA Scholastic Assistant Coach of the Year Sectional Winners
Section 1: Robert Zetzsche, Newark Valley H.S., Newark Valley, N.Y.
Section 2: Chris Chidlaw, Elyria H.S., Elyria, Ohio
Section 3: Caleb Myeers, Science Hill H.S., Johnson City, Tenn.
Section 4: Dion Cobb, Valley H.S., West Des Moines, Iowa
Section 5: Chad Olson, Kenyon-Wanamingo H.S., Kenyon, Minn.
Section 6: Jimmy Filippo, Tuttle H.S., Tuttle, Okla.
Section 7: Paul Vasquez, Ironwood Ridge H.S., Oro Valley, Ariz.
Section 8: Doug Tovey, Hermiston H.S., Hermiston, Ore.

NWCA Scholastic Head Coach of the Year State Winners
Alabama: Steve Burrough, Oak Mt High School
Alaska: Michael Kimber, Mt. Edgecumbe High School
Arizona: Eric Brenton, Liberty High School
Arkansas: Jayson Howard, Greenbriar
California: Troy Tirapelle, buchanan high school
Colorado: Eddie Soto, Pueblo County High School
Delaware: Don Parsley, Milfor H.S.
Florida: Kris Hayward, Riverdale High School
Georgia: Kendall Love, Commerce High School
Hawaii: Walden Au, Iolani School, HI
Idaho: Jeff Klotzer, Caldwell High School
Illinois: Keith Healy, Providence Catholic HS
Indiana: Brett Smith, Prairie Heights H.S.
Iowa: Travis Young, Valley High School (WDM)
Kansas: Carlos Prieto, Garden City High School
Kentucky: Aaron Riordan, Oldham County High School
Louisiana: Rod Cusachs, De La Salle
Maine: Temey S. Noyes + Brooks Thompson, Skowhegan High
Maryland: Bryan Hamper, South Carroll
Massachusetts: Bruce Rich, Chelmsford HS
Michigan: Tim Roberts, Dundee High Schoo
Minnesota: Matt Ryan, Kenyon-Wanamingo
Missouri: Taylor Middleton, Smithville
Montana: Bob Owen, Polson
Nebraska: Tyler Herman, Amherst High School
Nevada: Joe Imelli, Spanish Springs HIgh School
New Hampshire: Bob Gannon, Campbell High School
New Jersey: John Stout, Southern Regional High School
New Mexico: Lee Chaves, Belen High School
New Mexico: Corey Anderson, Cleveland High School
New York: Brian Uvena, North Babylon High School
North Carolina: Bill Edmundson, Rosewood High School
Ohio: Todd Haverdill, Brecksville HS
Oklahoma: Matt Surber, Tuttle HighSchool
Oregon: Luke Cleaver, Nyssa High School
Pennsylvania: Dave Klepfer, Brookville
South Carolina: Chad Singleton, Dorman High
South Dakota: Shawn Lewis, Riggs HIGH
Tennessee: Patrick Simpson, Father Ryan H.S.
Texas: Shane Seleznoff, Heath
Utah: Jake Woolstenhulme, South Summit High School
Vermont: Scott Legacy, Mt. Anthony Union HS
Virginia: Bill Swink, Colonial Forge HS
Washington: Craig Hanson, East Valley Spokane
West Virginia: Cliff Warden, Independence
Wisconsin: Jeff Matczak, Kaukauna
Wyoming: Tom Seamans, Campbell County HS

NWCA Scholastic Assistant Coach of the Year State Winners
Alabama: John Daly, Athens High School
Alaska: Michael "Bubba" Wells, Homer High School
Arizona: Paul Vasquez, Ironwood Ridge HS
Arkansas: Chuck Mackey, Har-Ber
California: Buchannan HS Staff, Buchanan High School
Colorado: Josh Weissman, Poudre High School
Delaware: Luke Pierson, Milford H.S.
Florida: William Hunter Hill, Clay High School
Georgia: Rusty Transue, North Forsyth High School
Hawaii: Wayne Ibarra,
Idaho: Zach Horsley , Lakeland High School
Illinois: Nich Miller, Washington
Indiana: Ken Zuber, Evansville Memorial
Iowa: Dion Cobb, Valley High School
Kansas: Cade Blair, Andover High School
Kentucky: Garret Headley, Henry Clay
Louisiana: J P Pierre, Brother Martin
Maine: Jim Smith, Biddeford High School
Maryland: Ed Obendorfer, Damascus
Massachusetts: Annie Staulo, Newton North
Michigan: Scott Warren, Lakewood High School
Minnesota: Chad Olson, Kenyon-Wanamingo
Missouri: Kevin Durbin, Seneca
Montana: Cody Turnquist, Billings Senior
Nebraska: Scott DeLong, Filmore Central High School
Nevada: Dan Shaw, Fallon High School
New Hampshire: Jeff Sellars, Milford High School
New Jersey: Dan Roy, Southern Regional High School
New Mexico: Mark Pratt, Hobbs High School
New York: Robert Zetzsche , Newark Valley High School
North Carolina: Mike Turner, West Forsyth High School
Ohio: Chris Chidlaw, Elyria HS
Oklahoma: Jimmy Filippo, Tuttle
Oregon: Doug Tovey, Hermiston High School
Pennsylvania: Nick Deloia, Brookville
South Carolina: Chris Pannebaker, Dorman High
South Dakota: John Kalda, Riggs
Tennessee: Caleb Myers, Science Hill H.S.
Texas: Gabe Reyes, Prosper
Utah: Bob Piscatelli, Wasatch High School
Vermont: Nick Mayer, Mt. Anthony Union HS
Virginia: Carlos Eason, Great Bridge
Washington: Dave Laird, Ephrata
West Virginia: Jory Whorton, East Fairmont
Wisconsin: Joel Kuhl, Two Rivers
Wyoming: Tim Flynn


Login or Register to post a comment

JHillProductions (1) about 4 years ago
Where are Connecticut and Rhode Island? They have wrestling in those states.