Seeds, brackets released for ACC Championships

Links: Brackets | Event Website

GREENSBORO, N.C.-- The Atlantic Coast Conference announced Tuesday the individual seeds and competition brackets for the 2016 ACC Wrestling Championship, which will be held this Sunday at the University of Virginia's John Paul Jones Arena in Charlottesville, Va.

The Championship begins at 11 a.m. on Sunday with first-round action, continues with the semifinals at 1 p.m., consolation semifinals at 3:30 p.m. and the consolation finals matches at 5:30 p.m. The Championship concludes with championship finals matches which begin at 7 p.m.

ESPN3 will air live all of the matches of the 62nd Annual ACC Wrestling Championship, streaming action from both mats in the preliminary rounds.

The brackets and seeds are subject to change, as coaches can make changes in their lineups until 5 p.m. on Saturday.

NC State, ranked second nationally this week, led all schools with four wrestlers selected as No. 1 seeds in their weight classes, led by two-time national champion Nick Gwiazdowski (285), but also including Kevin Jack (141), Thomas Gantt (157) and Max Rohskopf (165).

Virginia Tech, which is ranked third nationally, and North Carolina, which is ranked 14th, each had two top seeds, followed by Duke and Virginia with one each.

Virginia Tech, which had Joey Dance (125) and Zack Zavatsky (184) named as No. 1 seeds, also led all schools with five wrestlers tabbed as No. 2 seeds in their weight classes.

The Hokies led all teams with seven wrestlers seeded first or second, followed by NC State (6), Duke (3), North Carolina (2), Virginia (1) and Pitt (1).

North Carolina's top seeded wrestlers included Evan Henderson (149) and Ethan Ramos (174). Virginia had George DiCamillo (133) and Duke had Conner Hartmann (197) also named as the top-seeded wrestlers in their respective weight classes.

1. Joey Dance, Virginia Tech
2. Sean Fausz, NC State
3. LJ Bentley, Pitt
4. Nick Herrmann, Virginia
5. Thayer Atkins, Duke
6. Anthony Bosco, North Carolina

1. George DiCamillo, Virginia
2. Dom Forys, Pitt
3. Dennis Gustafson, Virginia Tech
4. Jamal Morris, NC State
5. James Szymanski, North Carolina

1. Kevin Jack, NC State
2. Solomon Chishko, Virginia Tech
3. Joey Ward, North Carolina
4. Zach Finesilver, Duke
5. Nick Zanetta, Pitt
6. Justin Van Hoose, Virginia

1. Evan Henderson, North Carolina
2. Mitch Finesilver, Duke
3. Sal Mastriani, Virginia Tech
4. Beau Donahue, NC State
5. Chris Yankowich, Virginia
6. Robert Lee, Pitt

1. Tommy Gantt, NC State
2. Nick Brascetta, Virginia Tech
3. Andrew Atkinson, Virginia
4. Connor Bass, Duke
5. Robert Henderson, North Carolina
6. Ronnie Garbinsky, Pitt

1. Max Rohskopf, NC State
2. Jake Faust, Duke
3. John Michael Staudenmeyer, North Carolina
4. Cody Wiercioch, Pitt
5. David McFadden, Virginia Tech
6. Garrett Peppelman, Virginia

1. Ethan Ramos, North Carolina
2. Zach Epperly, Virginia Tech
3. TeShan Campbell, Pitt
4. Nick Hall, NC State
5. Tyler Askey, Virginia
6. Alec Schenk, Duke

1. Zack Zavatsky, Virginia Tech
2. Pete Renda, NC State
3. Alex Utley, North Carolina
4. Will Schany, Virginia
5. Trey Adamson, Duke
6. Donovan McAfee, Pitt

1. Conner Hartmann, Duke
2. Jared Haught, Virginia Tech
3. Zach Nye, Virginia
4. Michael Boykin, NC State
5. Chip Ness, North Carolina
6. Nick Bonaccorsi, Pitt

1. Nick Gwiazdowski, NC State
2. Ty Walz, Virginia Tech
3. Ryan Solomon, Pitt
4. Patrick Gillen, Virginia
5. Brendan Walsh, Duke
6. Cory Daniel, North Carolina


Login or Register to post a comment