Top-ranked Wartburg wins Battle of the Burgs

WAVERLY, Iowa-- Top-ranked Wartburg (18-0 overall) defeated No. 7 Augsburg (11-3) 29-10 Thursday in the annual Battle of the Burgs. The Knights took the go-ahead lead in the all-time series at 16-15 and have won the last seven straight Battle of the Burgs.

  • Attendance: 2,200
  • Official: Jason Wedgeburn
  • Dual started at 157.
  • Olea had his first loss of the year and winning streak halted at 15.
  • Campo earned his 24th season victory which is tied for team best.
  • Onoo moved his winning streak to 14.
  • Wagenhoffer suffered his first loss of the season and had his 15-match winning streak snapped.
  • Michael remains undefeated.
  • Michael moved winning streak to 21.
  • DeVos increased his winning streak to 16.
  • DeVos earned his fourth fall and the fastest of the season.
  • Levsen earned his 20th win of the year.
  • Roman earned his ninth tech fall of the season and 25th of his career which ranks second-best on the program's all-time leader list.

    125: James Goman (AC) win by 9-7 dec vs. #3 Arnulfo Olea (WB)
    133: #3 Connor Campo (WB) win by 7-4 dec vs. #10 Sam Bennyhoff (AC)
    141: #8 Kaz Onoo (WB) won by 15-3 maj dec vs. Aaron Wilson (AC)
    149: Kenny Martin (WB) won by 9-7 dec vs. #7 Rashad Kennedy (AC)
    157: Grant Parker (AC) won by 7-6 dec OT vs. #3 Drew Wagenhoffer (WB)
    165: Nick Michael (WB) win by 16-1 tech fall vs. #10 Eric Hensel (AC)
    174: #3 Eric DeVos (WB) wins by fall at :26 vs. Austin Boniface (AC)
    184: #6 Bryan Levsen (WB) win by 4-3 dec vs. Sebastian Larson (AC)
    197: #2 Gerard Roman (WB) win by 18-0 tech fall at 1:52 vs. Logan Hortop (AC)
    285: #1 Donny Longendyke (AC) won by 9-1 maj dec. vs. Ben Nagle (WB)
  • Comments

    Login or Register to post a comment