Chattanooga scores win at Davidson

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team remained in first place in the Southern Conference race with a 37-9 win at Davidson today. The Mocs won the last eight matches of the dual to improve to 10-3 overall and 5-0 in SoCon action.

Chattanooga was without starter Alonzo Allen, who could not make the trip due to an illness. The Wildcats took advantage with a pin at 125 to open the dual. Davidson scored an overtime win at 133 and suddenly had its largest ever lead over Chattanooga in the 24-match history of the rivalry.

The Mocs didn't get rattled, thanks to a first-period pin by junior Michael Pongracz at 141. Sophomore Chase Zemenak followed with a major decision at 149 to put UTC on top for good with a 10-9 lead.

Freshman Kamaal Shakur scored his team-leading 20th win of the season with a 5-3 decision at 157. Freshman Dominic Lampe then added his fourth pin of the year at 165. Junior Sean Mappes posted a major at 174 and senior John Lampe was back in the lineup with a 9-4 decision at 184.

UTC closed out the match with more bonus points, led by junior Scottie Boykin's tech fall at 197. No. 11 Jared Johnson ended the day with a pin at heavyweight.

Today's win was the 26th league dual victory in a row for UTC. The Mocs last loss was a 21-17 home defeat against Appalachian State on Feb. 5, 2012.

"It was good to have John Lampe back," stated head coach Heath Eslinger. "Sean Mappes looked really good and all-in-all it was a good tune-up for a tough match on Friday."

Chattanooga can clinch the SoCon title with a win over ASU on Senior Day on Friday. It will be a tough task for the Mocs against the 25th-ranked Mountaineers who are 9-3 overall and 4-1 in SoCon action. Match time has been moved back one hour to 7:00 p.m. (E.S.T.) in Maclellan Gym.

125: Camden Bertucci (DAV) - Fall 2:01 - Toribbio Navarro (UTC) - Davidson 6-0
133: Dustin Runzo (DAV) - Dec. 5-3 (SV1) - Cody Hill (UTC) - Davidson 9-0
141: Michael Pongracz (UTC) - Fall 2:22 - Billy McClelland (DAV) - Davidson 9-6
149: Chase Zemenak (UTC) - MD 8-0 - Aidan Conroy (DAV) - UTC 10-9
157: Kamaal Shakur (UTC) - Dec. 5-3 - Tony Palumbo (DAV) - UTC 13-9
165: Dominic Lampe (UTC) - Fall 6:52 - Adam Flatt (DAV) - UTC 19-9
174: Sean Mappes (UTC) - MD 10-2 - Nathaniel Powers (DAV) - UTC 23-9
184: John Lampe (UTC) - Dec. 9-4 - Konner Pritchard (DAV) - UTC 26-9
197: Scottie Boykin (UTC) - TF 16-1 (5:00) - Michael Moore (DAV) - UTC 31-9
285: No. 11 Jared Johnson (UTC) - Fall 2:09 - Will Cooley (DAV) - UTC 37-9


Login or Register to post a comment