Martinez, Woulfe among leaders in NCAA Wrestling Awards standings

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has released the first week of standings for the 2016 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most technical falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted towards a student-athletes total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

The initial standings for falls in Division I is paced by a pair of Midshipmen as Navy 197-pounder Michael Woulfe has 11 falls, while 184-pounder Mathew Miller has nine.

In Division II, Pittsburgh-Johnstown 184-pounder Travis McKillop has nine falls to hold a narrow lead over Western State 125-pounder Ronald Wardleigh and Maryville (Missouri) 141-pounder Nate Rodriguez.

Christopher Chorzepa of Williams has 13 falls at 184 pounds to lead Division III by one fall over Messiah 184-pounder Josh Thomson.

The national leader for all divisions is in Division I where 2015 national champion Isaiah Martinez of Illinois has 11 tech falls at 157 pounds, which is the same total of tech falls he had in winning the award last season. He is five falls ahead of a group of four wrestlers with six tech falls, including 2015 national champion Gabriel Dean of Cornell at 184 pounds.

The Division II standings feature a four-way tie of wrestlers with five tech falls and another four wrestlers have compiled four. August Mizia of Mercyhurst holds the tiebreaker as he has compiled his five tech falls at 174 pounds in an aggregate time of 15:14, ahead of Wheeling Jesuit 149-pounder Dominick Nania's time of 16:54.

Division III also has a tie at the top as a pair of 149-pounders each has eight tech falls. Alex Kramer of Ursinus holds the tiebreaker over Zach Joseph of Springfield with an 18-minute edge in aggregate time (24:11 to 42:11).

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows. A 12-match minimum is required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Award.

* Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
* Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
* Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
* Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season in order to allow wrestlers to achieve the 12-match minimum that is required to be eligible for the standings.


Login or Register to post a comment

Bench_wrestler (1) about 5 years ago
Can't wait til Martinez meets Nolf in PSU - IL matchup. 11 TF vs 9 F.