Stauffer defeats NCAA runner-up Brown at NWCA All-Star Classic, earns OW

ATLANTA -- Arizona State wrestling's redshirt senior All-American Blake Stauffer was the winner at 184 pounds at the 50th Annual NWCA All-Star Classic on Sunday at McCamish Pavilion.

Blake Stauffer with Chris Pendleton
"This is a huge way to start the season, gives me the momentum I want to have," Stauffer said."Obviously I'm going use that going into next competition, and take it one week at a time."

Stauffer defeated Leighi's Nate Brown, the 2015 NCAA runner-up in their weight class, in a 4-1, sudden-victory decision.

"I knew it was going to be a battle going out there," Stauffer said."The plan was for me to wrestle like I do, get to my attacks, and not play his game. He's one of the top-ranked wrestlers in our weight class, obviously a tough opponent."

Both sides were scoreless after the first period before Brown earned an escape in the second period. Stauffer earned an escape of his own to start off the third period, tying the match at one point apiece to force the sudden-victory overtime.

With seconds to go in the sudden victory period, Stauffer held off an attack from Brown and earned a takedown of his own for three points (as part of the NWCA Classic experimental scoring) and the victory.

"In the first period, it was pretty much a tie-up, not a lot of offense, the second period was the same," Stauffer said."He got to his feet, but we were just pretty much stuck in tie-ups. I escaped in the third period to even the score, and in overtime, he got in on my leg, but I scrambled and got the takedown to end it."

Wrestling on behalf of the Red Team, Stauffer was also recognized as that team's outstanding wrestler for the Classic.

The Sun Devils will open the 2015-16 season at the West Virginia Duals on Sunday, Nov. 8 in Morgantown, W.Va., against West Virginia, Campbell, and Drexel. ASU's home opener is set for Thursday, Nov. 12 against Northern Colorado at 5 p.m. PT at Wells Fargo Arena.

All-Time Sun Devil Results From The NWCA All-Star Classic
2015 (184): Blake Stauffer dec. Nate Brown (Lehigh), 4-1 (SV OT)
2010 (125): Anthony Robles tech fall Zach Sanders (Minnesota), 20-2
(157): Bubba Jenkins major Adam Hall (Boise State), 12-4
2009 (125): Anthony Robles withdrew from event
2007 (157): Trent Paulson (Iowa State) dec. Brian Stith, 2-1
2006 (165): Eric Tannenbaum (Michigan) dec. Patrick Pitsch, 4-0
2000 (165): Steve Blackford major Kirk White (Boise State), 13-1
1997 (177): Erich Harvey (Michigan State) dec. Aaron Simpson, 4-3 tb
1995 (167): Markus Mollica dec. Mark Branch (Oklahoma State), 3-2
1994 (167): Shaon Fry (Missouri) dec. Markus Mollica, 5-2
1993 (126): Shawn Charles dec. Tony Purler (Nebraska), 8-6
1992 (126): Terry Brands (Iowa) major Shawn Charles, 21-13
1991 (158): Steve Hamilton (Iowa State) dec. Ray Miller, 8-6
(190): Rex Holman dec. Mike Funk (Northwestern), 5-2
1990 (118): Doug Wyland (North Carolina) dec. Zeke Jones, 4-3
(134): Mike Lingenfelter (Lock Haven) injury Andy McNaughton, 4:47
(142): Joe Reynolds (Oklahoma) dec. Thom Ortiz, 3-2
(167): Dan St. John dec. Baron Blakely (Oklahoma), 9-2
1989 (177): Jim Gressley withdrew from event (injured)
1988 (190): Eric Voelker (Iowa State) dec. Mike Davies, 7-4
1981 (126): Ricky Dellagatina (Kentucky) major Gary Bohay, 17-9
Hvy: Dan Severn tied Bruce Baumgartner (Indiana State), 4-4
1980 (190): Dan Severn withdrew from event (injured)
1979 (177): Steve Frazier (Michigan) dec. Dave Severn, 7-3
1978 (177): Don Shuler dec. Jim Blackman (Franklin & Marshall), 7-4
(190): Jim Marzone (Northwestern) dec. Dan Severn, 10-6
1977 (150): Roye Oliver dec. Mark Churella (Michigan), 5-4
(177): Dave Severn withdrew from event (injury)
1968 (Hvy): Curley Culp dec. Dave Porter (Michigan), 5-2
1967 (118): Glenn McMinn Sr. dec. Jim Anderson (Minnesota), 3-2
(Hvy): Curley Culp pinned Dave Porter (Michigan), 3:38


Login or Register to post a comment