Southern Scuffle field announced

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga will again welcome a loaded field of collegiate wrestlers to the 2015 Defense Soap and Flips Wrestling Southern Scuffle. Billed as the top, in-season tournament in the nation, the Scuffle takes place Jan. 1-2 at the McKenzie Arena in Chattanooga.

Over half of the top 25 teams at last year's NCAA Tournament are in the field of 31. Defending NCAA Champion Penn State highlights the list. The Nittany Lions look to make it four straight team wins at the Scuffle.

No. 3 Oklahoma State and No. 7 Cornell are also among the top-10 teams returning to the Scenic City. Some exciting newcomers are No. 11 Nebraska, No. 17 Michigan, No. 18 Lehigh and No. 25 Boise State.

"We want to do what we can to continue to make this the best wrestling tournament in the country," stated head coach Heath Eslinger. "We want top-notch competition for the student-athletes and coaches, and a great fan experience for anyone who comes to watch. Our University is behind it, our city is behind it, and we are excited about making this year's event the best one yet."

Two national champions and six finalists are among the individuals competing at the Scuffle. All totaled, 29 All-Americans and 93 nationally ranked wrestlers are scheduled to take the mat.

"From a competition standpoint, this year's draw is going to be tough to beat," added Eslinger. "One in every five competitors is ranked and there are 29 who have stood on the podium at the NCAAs. That's an impressive group for a two-day tournament in Chattanooga."

Tickets for the 2015 Southern Scuffle are on sale now. Daily admission is $30 for reserved seats, $20 for general admission and $10 for youth general admission. All-session passes are $55 for reserved, $35 for general admission and $15 for youth. Tickets can be purchased online on or by calling the UTC Ticket Office at (423) 266-MOCS (6627).

2015 Southern Scuffle Participants (No. is finish at the 2014 NCAA Championships)
1. Penn State
3. Oklahoma State
7. Cornell
11. Nebraska
12. Iowa State
14. Missouri
17. Michigan
18. Lehigh
19. NC State
22. Pittsburgh
23. Virginia
25. North Carolina
25. Boise State
Appalachian State
Central Michigan
The Citadel
Cleveland State
Gardner Webb
George Mason
Kent State
Northern Colorado


Login or Register to post a comment