Rose shines brightest at 2012 InterMat JJ Classic

Related Content: Results | Placewinners | Photos | Videos | Highlights

Nathan Rose (Photo/Jeff Beshey, The Guillotine)

ROCHESTER, Minn. -- In a tournament filled with national champions, All-Americans, and state champions, it was Nathan Rose who shined brightest at the third annual InterMat JJ Classic held on Sunday at the UCR Regional Sports Center in Rochester, Minn.

Nathan Rose (Photo/Jeff Beshey, The Guillotine)
The Sibley East (Minn.) junior won the title in the 195-pound weight class, and had a path that included a semifinal victory over University of Michigan commit Payne Hayden (St. Johns, Mich.) and a finals victory over Lance Benick (Totino-Grace, Minn.), a USA Wrestling Cadet National Triple Crown winner and the nation's No. 8 sophomore.

In the finals, Rose built a 7-1 lead on Benick in the third period on the strength of three takedowns. Benick battled back and put himself back in the match with three consecutive takedowns of his own, but it was too little too late as Rose held on for the 9-8 victory.

Rose, an undefeated (45-0) state champion as a sophomore and two-time NHSCA Nationals champion, was named Outstanding Wrestler of the event.

Josh Alber (Photo/The Guillotine)
Josh Alber (Dakota, Ill.) and Mark Hall (Apple Valley, Minn.) were the lone repeat champions.

Alber, a Super 32 Challenge runner-up a week ago, dominated his competition en route to winning his second consecutive JJ Classic title at 120 pounds. He had bonus-point victories in all four of his victories leading up to the finals. In the finals he registered a 10-4 victory over 2011 JJ Classic champion Dante' Rodriguez (Grand Island, Neb).

Hall, the nation's No. 1 freshman, cruised to the title at 160 pounds. His road to the title include a technical fall in the quarterfinals, pin in the semifinals, and a 13-4 major decision in the finals over Lucas Westrich (Lakeville North, Minn.). Hall's title last year came at 145 pounds.

Dayton Racer (Photo/The Guillotine)
Hall was one of three JJ Classic champions for Apple Valley. The other two were Dayton Racer (152) and Paul Cheney (220).

Racer, a Cadet National folkstyle champion, won by injury default in his championship match against Andrew Millsap (Junction City, Kan.), a state champion and Cadet National Greco-Roman All-American.

Cheney handled Cody Linssen (Park, Minn.) 9-1 in the championship match at 220 pounds.

Drew West (Photo/Jeff Beshey, The Guillotine)
Three champions came from the state of Iowa: Drew West of Highland (100), Alijah Jeffery of Linn Mar (113), and Logan Ryan of Bettendorf (132). West was the No. 1 seed, while Jeffery and Ryan were the No. 2 seeds.

West won the title at 100 pounds -- a weight class contested for the first time at the JJ Classic. He had three pins in five matches, including a first-period pin in the championship match against fellow Iowan Jack Wagner (Bettendorf, Iowa).

Jeffery, a Junior National folkstyle and freestyle All-American, defeated Junior National folkstyle runner-up Syler Petry in the finals 3-2 at 113 pounds.

Ryan, a Junior National folkstyle champion, won a hard-fought match over Cadet National folkstyle runner-up Mark Voss (St. Michael-Albertville, Minn.) 8-6 to earn the tile at 132 pounds.

Michigan had a pair of champions in Mason Smith of Clio (106) and Zac Hall of St. Johns (126).

Smith, a state fourth-place finisher as a freshman, came through as the No. 5 seed to win the title at 106 pounds. His run to the title included three consecutive victories over Fargo champions. In the quarterfinals Smith won 12-4 over Junior National freestyle champion Tanner Rohweder (Dowling Catholic, Iowa). He followed that up with a 7-0 semifinal victory over 2011 Cadet National Triple Crown winner Gannon Volk. Smith concluded his tournament by pinning Cadet National Greco-Roman champion Mitchell McKee (St. Michael-Albertville, Minn.).

Zac Hall (Photo/The Guillotine)
Hall, a two-time state champion, topped 2011 JJ Classic champion Fredy Stroker (Bettendorf, Iowa) 10-2 to win the championship at 126 pounds. Hall took a 3-0 lead into the third period before blowing the match open with two more takedowns and a three-point nearfall. It was the second meeting between the two this year, with Hall also winning the previous meeting in the FILA Cadet National freestyle competition earlier this year.

Bobby Steveson (Merrillville, Ind.), the nation's No. 20 sophomore wrestler, earned a 7-2 victory over state champion T.J. Ohara (Tartan, Minn.) in the finals at 170 pounds. Steveson was dominant throughout the day with two pins, a technical fall, and a five-point decision over Ohara.

South Dakota State coach Chris Bono and North Dakota State Roger Kish took time out of their schedules to catch the action at the JJ Classic (Photo/Jeff Beshey, The Guillotine)
Tanner Trembley, a state champion and Junior National folkstyle All-American, improved upon his third-place finish at last year's JJ Classic to win the title at 138 pounds. His finals victory came over state third-place finisher Carver James (Dakota, Ill.) 6-2.

Wisconsin's lone champion was Kasey Caelwaerts (Pulaski) at 145 pounds. Caelwaerts, a Cadet National folkstyle All-American, won 9-6 over state placewinner Logan Peterson (ACGC, Minn.). Peterson had notched a 7-2 victory in the semifinals over top-seeded Brent Schafer (St. Johns, Mich.), a state champion and University of Indiana commit.

Miles Hammerlund (Delano, Minn.), a state runner-up, proved to be too much for Laquan Wallace (Champlin Park, Minn.) in the finals at 182 pounds. Hammerlund cruised to an 11-3 victory.

Jason Callanan (Rochester Mayo, Minn.) earned the championship at heavyweight with a pin over Mitch Ciesielski (Independence, Iowa).

Austin Anderly (LeSueur-Henderson, Minn.), who placed third at 100 pounds, earned the Most Falls in Least Time award.

Finals Results:
100: No. 1 Drew West (Highland, Iowa) pinned No. 6 Jack Wagner (Bettendorf), 1:36
106: No. 6 Mason Smith (Clio, Mich.) pinned No. 2 Mitchell McKee (St. Michael-Albertville, Minn.), 2:42
113: No. 2 Alijah Jeffery (Linn Mar, Iowa) dec. No. 5 Skyler Petry (WEM, Minn.), 3-2
120: No. 1 Josh Alber (Dakota, Ill.) dec. Dante' Rodriguez (Grand Island, Neb.), 10-4
126: No. 1 Zac Hall (St Johns, Mich.) maj. dec. No. 2 Fredy Stroker (Bettendorf, Iowa), 10-2
132: No. 2 Logan Ryan (Bettendorf, Iowa) dec. No. 1 Mark Voss (St Michael-Albertville, Minn.), 8-6
138: No. 1 Taner Trembley (LCWM, Minn.) dec. No. 7 Carver James (Dakota, Ill.), 6-2
145: No. 3 Kasey Caelwaerts (Pulaski, Wis.) dec. No. 4 Logan Peterson (ACGC, Minn.), 9-6
152: No. 1 Dayton Racer (Apple Valley, Minn.) won by inj. default over No. 2 Andrew Millsap (Junction City, Kan.)
160: No. 1 Mark Hall (Apple Valley, Minn.) dec. No. 3 Lucas Westrich (Lakeville North, Minn.), 13-4
170: No. 1 Bobby Steveson (Merrillville, Ind.) dec. No. 2 T.J. Ohara (Tartan, Minn.), 7-2
182: No. 1 Miles Hammerlund (Delano, Minn.) maj. dec. No. 3 Laquan Wallace (Champlin Park, Minn.), 11-3
195: No. 2 Nathan Rose (Sibley East, Minn.) dec. No. 1 Lance Benick (Totino-Grace, Minn.), 9-8
220: No. 1 Paul Cheney (Apple Valley, Minn.) maj. dec. No. 2 Cody Linssen (Park, Minn.), 9-1
295: No. 1 Jason Callanan (Rochester Mayo, Minn.) pinned No. 2 Mitch Ciesielski (Independence, Iowa), 4:24


Login or Register to post a comment