Jump to content

  • Photo: Tony Rotundo

    Photo: Tony Rotundo

    Where do Junior Freestyle Champions Sign for College?

    As Fargo-week winds down, we have a newly-minted set of Junior freestyle national champions to add to the list of all-time greats in our sport. In the lead up to the competition, we’ve looked at how the 2023 NCAA All-Americans fared in the FargoDome and how often do Junior freestyle champions become DI All-Americans

    Now, we’re taking it a step further and looking at where Junior National champions sign on to continue competing in college. 

    For this exercise, we have looked at wrestlers that competed at Fargo from 2008-23. Also, only wrestlers in the Class of 2023 or before have been considered. Wrestlers in the Class of 2024/25 and beyond haven’t officially signed with their respective schools yet. 

    Arizona State: Brandon Courtney (113 lbs/2015), Tyler Liberatore (130 lbs/2010), Tanner Hall (215 lbs/2010)

    Boise State: Carson Kuhn (119 lbs/2010), Jake Swartz (189 lbs/2009)

    Bucknell: Noah Mulvaney (170 lbs/2023)

    Central Michigan: Ben Bennett (171 lbs/2008)

    Clarion: Joey Fischer (100 lbs/2018), Tyler Fraley (98 lbs/2008)

    Columbia: Angelo Rini (126 lbs/2019), Markus Schiedel (160 lbs/2013)

    Cornell: Joshua Saunders (138 lbs/2018), Ben Darmstadt (195 lbs/2016), Brian Realbuto (145 lbs/2011)

    Drexel: Ty Smith (113 lbs/2017)

    Fresno State: Jace Luchau (152 lbs/2019)

    Illinois: Kannon Webster (120 lbs/2021, 145 lbs/2023), Braeden Scoles (160 lbs/2023), Danny Braunagel (160 lbs/2018), Luke Luffman (220 lbs/2018, 285 lbs/2019), Jered Cortez (126 lbs/2013), Isaiah Martinez (160 lbs/2012), Zac Brunson (152 lbs/2011), Zane Richards (130 lbs/2011)

    Indiana: Elijah Oliver (113 lbs/2013)

    Iowa: Ryder Block (138 lbs/2023, 138 lbs/2022), Nate Jesuroga (120 lbs/2022), Aiden Riggins (160 lbs/2022),  Bradley Hill (220 lbs/2022), Drake Ayala (113 lbs/2019, 126 lbs/2021), Patrick Kennedy (160 lbs/2019), Cullan Schriever (113 lbs/2018), Abe Assad (182 lbs/2018), Jacob Warner (195 lbs/2017), Tony Cassioppi (285 lbs/2018, 285 lbs/2017), Seth Gross (132 lbs/2013), Thomas Gilman (119 lbs/2012), Cory Clark (126 lbs/2012), Sam Brooks (195 lbs/2012), Jake Ballweg (140 lbs/2010), Nick Moore (160 lbs/2010), Josh Dziewa (135 lbs/2009), Derek St. John (160 lbs/2009), Ethen Lofthouse (171 lbs/2009), Nate Moore (130 lbs/2008)

    Iowa State: Tate Naaktgeboren (182 lbs/2023), Cody Chittum (152 lbs/2022), Manny Rojas (170 lbs/2021), David Carr (160 lbs/2017), Austin Gomez (126 lbs/2016), Ian Parker (132 lbs/2016), Sammy Colbray (220 lbs/2016), Gannon Gremmel (285 lbs/2016), Danny Vega (106 lbs/2014), Marcus Harrington (220 lbs/2014), Ryak Finch (112 lbs/2009), Eric Thompson (285 lbs/2008)

    Lehigh: Jordan Wood (220 lbs/2015)

    Little Rock: Kyle Dutton (145 lbs/2022), Nasir Bailey (132 lbs/2021)

    Michigan: Drew Mattin (126 lbs/2017), Ben Freeman (138 lbs/2017), Will Lewan (152 lbs/2017), Austin Assad (120 lbs/2014, 126 lbs/2015), Adam Coon (285 lbs/2013, 285 lbs/2012), Ben Whitford (135 lbs/2011)

    Michigan State: Freddie Rodriguez (112 lbs/2010)

    Minnesota: Tagen Jamison (138 lbs/2021), Brayton Lee (152 lbs/2018), Patrick McKee (120 lbs/2017), Jake Allar (160 lbs/2016), Fredy Stroker (145 lbs/2015), Larry Early (152 lbs/2015), Mitch McKee (126 lbs/2014), Bobby Steveson (195 lbs/2014), Hunter Marko (106 lbs/2013), Tommy Thorn (113 lbs/2012, 132 lbs/2014), Logan Storley (171 lbs/2010), David Thorn (125 lbs/2009), Tony Nelson (215 lbs/2009), Mario Mason (152 lbs/2008)

    Missouri: Keegan O’Toole (138 lbs/2017), Zach Elam (220 lbs/2017), Canten Marriott (170 lbs/2016), J’den Cox (220 lbs/2012)

    Navy: Atilano Escobar (132 lbs/2017)

    NC State: Nick Reenan (182 lbs/2015)

    Nebraska: Dominick Serrano (132 lbs/2019), Beau Breske (170 lbs/2015)

    North Carolina: Wil Guida (100 lbs/2017, 106 lbs/2018)

    Northern Colorado: Jacob Seely (195 lbs/2015)

    Northern Illinois: Kirk Johansen (100 lbs/2013)

    Northern Iowa: Cory Land (132 lbs/2022), Adarios Jones (285 lbs/2014), Tanner Rohweder (100 lbs/2012)

    Northwestern: Lucas Davison (195 lbs/2018), Jack Jessen (182 lbs/2018), Mitch Sliga (195 lbs/2013), Bryce Brill (138 lbs/2012), Jason Tsirtsis (140 lbs/2011), Greg Kuhart (285 lbs/2010)

    Ohio: Jeremy Johnson (285 lbs/2009)

    Ohio State: Andre Gonzales (106 lbs/2019), Anthony Echemendia (145 lbs/2019), Paddy Gallagher (160 lbs/2019), Jordan Decatur (132 lbs/2018), Carson Kharchla (170 lbs/2018), Malik Heinselman (100 lbs/2016), Myles Martin (182 lbs/2014), Nathan Tomasello (112 lbs/2011, 120 lbs/2012, 120 lbs/2013), Derek Garcia (152 lbs/2009), Logan Stieber (125 lbs/2008)

    Oklahoma: Justin Forrest (119 lbs/2008), Matt Lester (145 lbs/2008)

    Oklahoma State: Jordan Williams (145 lbs/2021), Christian Carroll (220 lbs/2021), Daton Fix (120 lbs/2015), Joseph Smith (160 lbs/2015), Anthony Collica (145 lbs/2013, 145 lbs/2012), Chander Rogers (170 lbs/2014), Ryan Blees (152 lbs/2013, 160 lbs/2014), Kyle Crutchmer (170 lbs/2012), Jordan Rogers (182 lbs/2012), Eddie Klimara (125 lbs/2010), Austin Ormsbee (135 lbs/2010), Alex Dieringer (145 lbs/2010, 160 lbs/2011), Chris Perry (189 lbs/2008)

    Old Dominion: Anthony Molton (120 lbs/2019)

    Oregon State: Aden Attao (285 lbs/2022)

    Penn: Michael Colaiocco (126 lbs/2018), Anthony Artalona (145 lbs/2017, 145 lbs/2016)

    Penn State: Braeden Davis (113 lbs/2021), Josh Barr (160 lbs/2021, 170 lbs/2022), Aaron Brooks (170 lbs/2017), Gavin Teasdale (120 lbs/2016), Nick Lee (138 lbs/2016), Mason Manville (152 lbs/2014), Bo Nickal (170 lbs/2013), Zain Retherford (132 lbs/2012), Morgan McIntosh (189 lbs/2010, 215 lbs/2011), Andrew Alton (140 lbs/2009, 140 lbs/2008), Dylan Alton (135 lbs/2008, 145 lbs/2009)

    Princeton: Matt Kolodzik (138 lbs/2015)

    Purdue: Max Lyon (182 lbs/2017), Griffin Parriott (152 lbs/2016), Cashe Quiroga (130 lbs/2009)

    Rutgers: Nic Aguilar (113 lbs/2016)

    South Dakota State: Paul Mascarenas (106 lbs/2012)

    Stanford: Matt Garelli (98 lbs/2010, 105 lbs/2011), Ryan Mango (112 lbs/2008)

    Utah Valley: Taylor LaMont (132 lbs/2015), Matt Findlay (138 lbs/2014), Roy Nash (220 lbs/2013), Jade Rauser (105 lbs/2009)

    Virginia: Louie Hayes (106 lbs/2015), Jack Mueller (113 lbs/2014)

    Virginia Tech: TJ Stewart (182 lbs/2021), Caleb Henson (152 lbs/2021), Bryce Andonian (145 lbs/2018), Sam Latona (106 lbs/2017), Joey Dance (125 lbs/2011), Ty Mitch (119 lbs/2009)

    Wisconsin: Daniel Sheen (100 lbs/2019), Braxton Amos (220 lbs/2019), Eric Barnett (120 lbs/2018), Connor Medbery (285 lbs/2011), Destin McCauley (152 lbs/2010), Andrew Howe (160 lbs/2008)

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...