Jump to content

  • Photo: Sam Janicki

    Photo: Sam Janicki

    How Does Mason Parris Stack Up Against Past Hodge Winners? (2013-23)

    2023 Hodge Trophy Winner Mason Parris (photo courtesy of Sam Janicki; SJanickiPhoto.com)

    I’m sure you’ve heard by now, but Mason Parris is the 2023 Hodge Trophy winner. If not, well, now you know. There was some debate online about whether or not Parris was the right pick. For what it’s worth, he was my choice. This year was odd as it was not a year where there was one obvious selection and Parris edged the rest of the field.

    Now that Parris is the Hodge winner, how did his Hodge-winning season stack up against other recent winners? We’ve gone back to 2013 to look at all of the Hodge winners and picked out some key areas that can be weighed against one another. These aren’t perfect metrics, but they give you a solid idea on just how strong a wrestler’s Hodge season was (compared to the other greats).


    Mason Parris (Michigan)

    Record: 33-0

    Falls: 11

    Bonus Point %: 63.6

    Wins over 2023 All-Americans: 10

    Number of 2023 All-Americans Defeated: 5 (Kerkvliet, Hendrickson, Cassioppi, Davison, Hillger)

    Wins over 2023 NCAA Qualifiers: 20

    Bonus Point Wins at Nationals: 3 (Maj Joles, Maj Davison, Tech Cassioppi)

    For the full article, Subscribe to InterMat's Rokfin Page

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...