Juergens to be welcomed into Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame

Eric Juergens, mat champ for the University of Iowa two decades ago, is among the seven former Hawkeye athletes named to the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

A native of Maquoketa, Iowa, Juergens won back-to-back NCAA Division I titles for Iowa wrestling in 2000 and 2001 at 133 pounds, having earned NCAA All-American honors four consecutive years (1998-2001). He also was a two-time Big Ten conference champ in 2000 and 2001, and earned Big Ten Wrestler of the Year honors in 2001. What's more, Juergens was twice named Iowa Male Athlete of the Year.

Eric Juergens (Photo/Iowa Athletics)
Juergens has already been welcomed into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum Glen Brand Hall of Fame in 2002, and the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco, Iowa for wrestlers with a connection to the state of Iowa in 2006.

In addition to Eric Juergens, other members of the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2019 include Jeremy Allen, Deb Brickey, Marc Long, Diane Pohl, Leroy Smith, and Tangela Smith.

All Hawkeye athletes who have earned at least one varsity letter award at Iowa are eligible for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility 10 years, and coaches/administrators five years prior to their induction.

Juergens and others in the 31st Hall of Fame class will be inducted into the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, Aug. 30, 2019 during an evening ceremony inside the Grand Coral Ballroom at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center at 6:30 p.m. Central. A hors d'oeuvres and cocktail reception precedes the induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m. This induction event takes place the evening prior to the University of Iowa football team's season opener against Miami University of Ohio.

For more information, contact the Iowa Varsity Club office at (319) 335-9438.


Login or Register to post a comment

freefollow (1) about 4 months ago
Get tons of free Instagram followers just with one click!