Marsteller named Lock Haven's Male Senior Student-Athlete for 2019

Chance Marsteller wrestling Wisconsin's Evan Wick in the NCAA quarterfinals (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

Two-time NCAA All-American wrestler Chance Marsteller has been named recipient of Lock Haven University's Bald Eagle Award as the school's male senior student-athlete for 2019, the Pennsylvania-based university announced this week.

In addition, Bekah Slattery was named Lock Haven's Charlotte E. Smith Award winner as the school's top female senior student-athlete for the just-completed school year.

Winners of both awards are determined by Lock Haven sports coaches.

In describing Marsteller's Bald Eagle Award, the school's announcement said, "This award goes to a senior male student-athlete who has demonstrated overall excellence in athletics, academics and service and whose efforts during his time at The Haven have made us all proud to have him represent not only his individual team, but also the overall athletics program."

Chance Marsteller concluded his Lock Haven wrestling career on a high note, with a number of significant accomplishments. He was crowned the 165-pound champ at the 2019 EWL (Eastern Wrestling League) championships, and was named Outstanding Wrestler of the event. Marsteller was a two-time NCAA Division I All-American, placing third at the 2019 NCAAs, and fourth in 2018 ... and led Lock Haven to back-to-back top-20 finishes in the team standings at the NCAAs those years. Marsteller, a 2019 Southern Scuffle finalist, finished his senior year with a 28-3 overall record ... and 72 wins in two seasons for the Bald Eagles.

In addition to those on-the-mat accomplishments, Marsteller was a two-time PSAC Top 10 Selection athlete, an award which honors academic success.

The 2019 LHU Bald Eagle Award is just one of a trio of honors Chance Marsteller earned this school year from organizations beyond his university. Marsteller also was named 2018-19 Eastern Wrestling League Athlete of the Year, and Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Division I Wrestler of the Year for 2019.


Login or Register to post a comment