Pre-seeds, brackets released for Big 12 Championships

UNI's Josh Alber earned the No. 1 seed at 141 pounds (Photo/Mark Lundy,

Link: Preliminary Brackets

The Big 12 has released the pre-seeds for the Big 12 Wrestling Championship set to take place on March 9-10 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Oklahoma State leads the way heading into the championship with six No. 1 seeds, while Iowa State, Northern Iowa, Oklahoma and Wyoming earned the remaining four top seeds.

The pre-seeds were voted into their positions by the leagues 12 head coaches and are subject to change. Final seeds will be confirmed at Friday's pre-championship coaches meeting.

OSU's Nick Piccininni (125), Daton Fix (133), Kaden Gfeller (149), Jacobe Smith (174), Preston Weigel (197) and Derek White (HWT) earned top seeds. ISU's Sam Colbray (184), Northern Iowa's Josh Alber (141), OU's Justin Thomas (157) and Wyoming's Branson Ashworth (165) were also voted No. 1 seeds.

Tickets for the 2019 Big 12 Wrestling Championship can be purchased online through TicketMaster or the Big 12 Wrestling Championship page.

This is the fourth year in which the Big 12 Championship has taken place at a neutral site which makes the Big 12 Wrestling Championship the only Division I Conference Championship to be hosted at a neutral site.

FloWrestling will broadcast the first three sessions here, while the fourth and final session (championship finals) will be telecast by Fox Sports Regional Networks.


Login or Register to post a comment