Pre-seeds released for Big Ten Championships

Penn State's Mark Hall is seeded No. 1 at 174 pounds (Photo/Sam Janicki,

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the preliminary seeds for the 2019 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, which are set for March 9-10 at Minnesota. Seven schools boast at least one top-seeded wrestler, with Penn State leading the way with four No. 1 seeds.

Iowa, Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State will bring a seeded wrestler in each of the 10 weight classes, while Nebraska and Northwestern boast a seeded grappler in nine classes.

The pre-seeds, as voted on by the conference's coaches, rank the top eight wrestlers in three weight classes, along with all 14 starters in seven weight classes due to the Big Ten receiving nine or more NCAA Championships qualifier allocations in those classes.

Penn State boasts four top-seeded wrestlers, with 157-pounder Jason Nolf, 165-pounder Vincenzo Joseph, 174-pounder Mark Hall and 197-pounder Bo Nickal. The Fighting Illini's Michael Carr (141), the Wolverines' Stevan Micic (133), the Gophers' Gable Steveson (285), the Wildcats' Sebastian Rivera (125), the Buckeyes' Myles Martin (184) and the Scarlet Knights' Anthony Ashnault (149) round out the group of top-ranked grapplers.

This year's field contains a combined 10 Big Ten individual championships (eight wrestlers) and eight NCAA individual championships (five wrestlers).

For more information on the 2019 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, visit the Big Ten Championships Central page. The complete list of Big Ten Championships pre-seeds can be found below.

1. Sebastian Rivera, NU
2. Spencer Lee, IOWA
3. Sean Russell, MINN
4. RayVon Foley, MSU
5. Travis Piotrowski, ILL
6. Drew Mattin, MICH
7. Zeke Moisey, NEB
8. Malik Heinselman, OSU
9. Devin Schroder, PUR
10. Elijah Oliver, IND
11. Brandon Cray, MD
12. Devin Schnupp, PSU
13. Shane Metzler, RU
14. Ethan Rotondo, WIS

1. Stevan Micic, MICH
2. Austin DeSanto, IOWA
3. Nick Suriano, RU
4. Roman Bravo-Young, PSU
5. Luke Pletcher, OSU
6. Ethan Lizak, MINN
7. Ben Thornton, PUR
8. Dylan Duncan, ILL
9. Anthony Tutolo, MSU
10. Colin Valdiviez, NU
11. Jens Lantz, WIS
12. Paul Konrath, IND
13. Jevon Parrish, NEB
14. Orion Anderson, MD

1. Michael Carr, ILL
2. Nick Lee, PSU
3. Joey McKenna, OSU
4. Tristan Moran, WIS
5. Kanen Storr, MICH
6. Mitch McKee, MINN
7. Max Murin, IOWA
8. Chad Red, NEB
9. Pete Lipari, RU
10. Nate Limmex, PUR
11. Kyle Luigs, IND
12. Austin Eicher, MSU
13. Danny Bertoni, MD
14. Alec McKenna, NU

1. Anthony Ashnault, RU
2. Micah Jordan, OSU
3. Pat Lugo, IOWA
4. Thomas Thorn, MINN
5. Cole Martin, WIS
6. Brady Berge, PSU
7. Shayne Oster, NU
8. Malik Amine, MICH

1. Jason Nolf, PSU
2. Tyler Berger, NEB
3. Ryan Deakin, NU
4. Alec Pantaleo, MICH
5. Kaleb Young, IOWA
6. Steve Bleise, MINN
7. Ke-Shawn Hayes, OSU
8. Eric Barone, ILL
9. Griffin Parriott, PUR
10. John Van Brill, RU
11. Jake Danishek, IND
12. Jake Tucker, MSU
13. Garrett Model, WIS
14. Adam Whitesell, MD

1. Vincenzo Joseph, PSU
2. Alex Marinelli, IOWA
3. Evan Wick, WIS
4. Isaiah White, NEB
5. Logan Massa, MICH
6. Te'Shawn Campbell, OSU
7. Bryce Martin, IND
8. Carson Brolsma, MINN
9. Joseph Gunther, ILL
Tyler Morland, NU
10. Phillip Spadafora, MD
11. Stephan Glasgow, RU
12. Austin Hiles, MSU
13. Cole Wysocki, PUR

1. Mark Hall, PSU
2. Myles Amine, MICH
3. Dylan Lydy, PUR
4. Mikey Labriola, NEB
5. Devin Skatzka, MINN
6. Ethan Smith, OSU
7. Ryan Christensen, WIS
8. Drew Hughes, MSU
9. Joe Grello, RU
10. Mitch Bowman, IOWA
11. Carver James, ILL
12. Jake Covaciu, IND
13. Josh Ugalde, MD
14. Braxton Cody, NU

1. Myles Martin, OSU
2. Shakur Rasheed, PSU
3. Tyler Venz, NEB
4. Emery Parker, ILL
5. Cash Wilcke, IOWA
6. Mason Reinhardt, WIS
7. Jelani Embree, MICH
8. Max Lyon, PUR
9. Nick Gravina, RU
10. Cameron Caffey, MSU
11. Norman Conley, IND
12. Brandon Krone, MINN
13. Kyle Jasenski, MD
14. Brendan Devine, NU

1. Bo Nickal, PSU
2. Kollin Moore, OSU
3. Jacob Warner, IOWA
4. Christian Brunner, PUR
5. Eric Schultz, NEB
6. Jackson Striggow, MICH
7. Dylan Anderson, MINN
8. Brad Wilton, MSU

1. Gable Steveson, MINN
2. Anthony Cassar, PSU
3. Mason Parris, MICH
4. Trent Hillger, WIS
5. Chase Singletary, OSU
6. Conan Jennings, NU
7. David Jensen, NEB
8. Sam Stoll, IOWA


Login or Register to post a comment

grapplerjdc (2) about 6 months ago
Carr Over Lee ?
dbestsport (1) about 6 months ago
Lee is being penalized for his loss to Moran. And he should be. Carr and McKenna both beat Moran.
McKenna is being punished for his loss to Lee.
hardcor_33 (2) about 6 months ago
Not sure what the thought process was at 141. Carr has barely wrestled. If you look at common opponents, Lee and McKenna looked like the solid 1-2 seeds. I get that Lee lost to Moran, but the win over McKenna and the difference in wins over the common opponents (Lee v. Eicher 19-7, Carr v. Eicher 6-4, Lee v. Storr 10-4, Carr v. Storr 3-2). The only other common opponent was Red from Nebraska with very similar scores. I guess I am more disappointed that Lee and McKenna can't meet in the finals as they seem to be the two best in the conference.
I'm also surprised to see Shak as the #2 seed at 184 with his only ranked wins against Embree of UM and Caffey of MSU. He might be the second best in the conference, but hasn't really done anything to earn it this season. I probably would've put him at #5.
Ultimately it doesn't really matter, just my two cents.