Buffalo earns win over Ohio

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The University at Buffalo wrestling team earned a 26-12 win over Ohio at Alumni Arena on Sunday afternoon. It was the Bulls fourth straight dual win and 11th of the season. It was only the fourth time Buffalo beat the Bobcats since joining the Mid-American Conference in 1998.

Kyle Akins got the Bulls off to a good start with a 6-4 sudden victory over Trevor Giallombardo at 125. With the match knotted at 4 after regulation, Akins wasted little time, earning a takedown early in overtime to get the 6-4 win.

Derek Spann followed up Akins' win with a pin of Shakur Laney at 133. Spann held a slim 4-3 lead after the second period before dominating Laney in the third. After flipping Laney to his back midway through the period, Spann finally earned the pin with 19 seconds left on the clock.

Ohio won the next two matches to cut the Buffalo advantage to 9-6, but had to forfeit the 157 match, giving the Bulls a 15-6 advantage.

Troy Keller put on a dominant performance at 165, earning the technical fall over Ben Schneider. Keller jumped out to an 11-3 lead after the first period to set the tone for his second straight victory by tech fall.

The Bobcats crept back into the dual by winning decisions at 174 and 185 to make the score 20-12. However, Brett Perry slammed the door on an Ohio comeback by defeating Derek Hillman, 9-8. A late reversal by Perry was the difference in the match.

Jake Gunning beat Zack Parker, 7-3, to cap off the Buffalo victory. It was Gunning's 49th career dual win - fourth most in school history.

"We want to see our program excel at a high level and I think we have the kids to do it," head coach John Stutzman said. "I think it's only going to keep going. We wrestle hard and we try hard and I think that's the name of the game."

Buffalo will next host Northern Illinois on Friday afternoon at 2 pm at the Ed Wright Practice Facility.

125 - Kyle Akins (UB) won by sudden victory over Trevor Giallombardo (OU), 6-4
133 - Derek Spann (UB) won fall over Shakur Laney (OU), 6:41
141 - #16 Cameron Kelly (OU) won by decision over #8 Bryan Lantry (UB), 7-2
149 - Alex Hagan (OU) won by decision over Jason Estevez (UB), 5-2
157 - Alex Smythe (UB) won by forfeit
165 - Troy Keller (UB) won by technical fall over Ben Schneider (OU), 20-3 (6:57)
174 - Logan Stanley (OU) won by decision over Jake Lanning (UB), 11-4
184 - Hunter Yeargan (OU) won by decision over Logan Rill (UB), 5-1
197 - Brett Perry (UB) won by decision over Derek Hillman (OU), 9-8
285 - #14 Jake Gunning (UB) won by decision over Zack Parker (OU), 7-3


Login or Register to post a comment

CcareS (1) about 6 months ago
Very Nice, Well Done -
swer456 (1) about 3 months ago
This is all true. Every single word. Unless you already have a cubicle job and then are spurred on by desperation.