Appalachian State shuts out Davidson

DAVIDSON, N.C. -- Setting the tone with an aggressive start, Appalachian State Wrestling posted a 43-0 shutout of Davidson on Tuesday in Belk Arena.

With the win, App State (7-6, 4-1 SoCon) can clinch a share of a fourth straight conference title by beating The Citadel (1-8, 1-2) on Sunday afternoon in the home finale at Varsity Gym.

The dual begins at 3 p.m. Tickets at $7 (adult) and $3 (youth) can be purchased by clicking HERE.

The Mountaineers, who are unofficially No. 28 in the latest NWCA Coaches Poll with four voting points, recorded wins in all 10 matches against Davidson and earned bonus points in seven of them. App State seniors Irvin Enriquez (141 pounds) and Michael Elliott (165) had pins, and there were four major decisions.

Starting the night at 174 pounds, Appalachian received major decisions from Thomas Flitz (13-4 against Noah Satterfield), Alan Clothier (12-3 at 184 against Conor Fenn) and Randall Diabe (12-3 at 197 against Finlay Holston) before Cary Miller added a 6-2 decision against Mitchell Trigg in the heavyweight division. Those four wrestlers combined for 17 takedowns without allowing a takedown, as Flitz had one in the first 40 seconds, Clothier had one in the first 30 seconds and Miller had one in the first 20 seconds en route to his 50th career win in an App State uniform.

In all, the Mountaineers were on the wrong end of just one takedown.

De'Andre Swinson Barr's win by forfeit at 125 pounds increased the advantage in the team score to 21-0, and Codi Russell was tied at 3-all with Kyle Gorant after one period before pulling away in a 13-5 major decision at 133 pounds. Gorant entered the night with a 13-8 record.

Enriquez recorded his fifth win by fall of the season as the first period ended against Caleb Ziebell, and Matt Zovistoski followed with an 8-2 decision against Aidan Conroy at 149.

Angel Najar shut out Tony Palumbo, who entered the dual with double-digit wins, in a 4-0 decision at 157 leading up to Elliott's dual-ending pin of Hunter Costa in 3:50.

174: Thomas Flitz (APP) def. Noah Satterfield (DAV), 13-4 maj. dec.
184: Alan Clothier (APP) def. Conor Fenn (DAV), 12-3 maj. dec.
197: Randall Diabe (APP) def. Finlay Holston (DAV), 12-3 maj. dec.
HWT: Cary Miller (APP) def. Mitchell Trigg (DAV), 6-2 dec.
125: De'Andre Swinson-Barr (APP) won by forfeit
133: Codi Russell (APP) def. Kyle Gorant (DAV), 13-5 maj. dec.
141: Irvin Enriquez (APP) def. Caleb Ziebell (DAV), fall, 2:59
149: Matt Zovistoski (APP) def. Aidan Conroy (DAV), 8-2 dec.
157: Angel Najar (APP) def. Tony Palumbo (DAV), 4-0 dec.
165: Michael Elliott (APP) def. Hunter Costa (DAV), fall, 3:50


Login or Register to post a comment