Familiar names hold top spots in recent fall, technical fall rankings

Da'mani Burns

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has released updated standings for the 2019 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most technical falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted they must come against opponents in the same division (i.e. Division II vs. Division II). Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

Central Michigan heavyweight Matt Stencel takes sole possession of first place in Division I with 15 falls, one more than George Mason 165-pounder Colston DiBlasi with 14. Kent State's Andrew McNally continues to hold solo third place with 12 falls, while five more wrestlers have 10 or 11.

No change in Division II where Lake Erie heavyweight Evan Loughman has taken control of solo first with nine falls. Jacob Robb (Mercyhurst), Ryan Rochford (Adams State) and Justin Folley (Upper Iowa) are on his heels with eight falls.

Da'mani Burns and Tommy Wrzesien of JWU (Providence) control the top two places in Division III with 17 and 16 falls, respectively. Williams' Joseph Rossetti at 141 pounds and heavyweight Jake Evans of Waynesburg are next with 15 each.

Lock Haven 141-pounder Kyle Shoop and Oklahoma State 133-pounder Daton Fix continue to go back-and-forth for the Division I lead in tech falls as both have 11, but Shoop holds the aggregate time tiebreaker by seven-plus minutes (48:11-55:59). They remain the only two wrestlers in the division to surpass double digits in tech falls.


Login or Register to post a comment