Chattanooga defeats Davidson

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team ran its Southern Conference record to 2-0 with a 34-9 win over Davidson today. The Mocs scored bonus points in five of six wins after the Wildcats started the match with a forfeit at 125.

Senior Alonzo Allen took the opening walkover for the Mocs, putting junior Jake Huffine on the mat first against Kyle Gorant. Gorant used an early takedown to set the tone for the opening bout. He eventually scored an 8-2 decision for his third win in a row.

Junior Chris Debien upped the intensity with his pin against Caleb Ziebell at 133. He had three takedowns in the first period before putting Ziebell on his back at 4:25.

Freshman Tanner Smith scored a nice 10-2 major decision on his 21st birthday. He won for the fourth time in five matches to improve to 7-4 overall. After a loss at 157, freshman Drew Nicholson was also active with a 20-5 tech fall over Erik Eva at 165. He evened his overall mark at 7-7.

Freshman Hunter Fortner clinched the team win with a pin at 174. Davidson rounded out its scoring with a win at 184. Seniors Rodney Jones and Connor Tolley ended the match with wins at 197 and 285.

Complete results are available below and the full MocsVision replay can be seen by clicking here.

UTC improves to 4-5 overall while Davidson drops to 2-8 overall and 0-2 in SoCon action. The Mocs are currently in first place in the SoCon standings with Campbell and The Citadel sitting at 1-0. Appalachian State is in fourth place at 2-1, while VMI (1-2), Gardner-Webb (0-2) and Davidson round out the rest of the league standings.

Up next for the Mocs is a key road trip next weekend at Gardner-Webb and Appalachian State. UTC faces the Bulldogs on Friday, Feb. 1, and the Mountaineers on Sunday, Feb. 3. The next home match is against The Citadel at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 8. Admission for that match is $1 at the gate.

125: Alonzo Allen (UTC) over (DAV) (For.) - UTC 6-0
133: Kyle Gorant (DAV) over Jake Huffine (UTC) (Dec 8-2) - UTC 6-3
141: Chris Debien (UTC) over Caleb Ziebell (DAV) (Fall 4:25) - UTC 12-3
149: Tanner Smith (UTC) over Aidan Conroy (DAV) (MD 10-2) - UTC 16-3
157: Tony Palumbo (DAV) over Ryan Resnick (UTC) (Dec 4-2) - UTC 16-6
165: Drew Nicholson (UTC) over Erik Eva (DAV) (TF 20-5 6:07) - UTC 21-6
174: Hunter Fortner (UTC) over Noah Satterfield (DAV) (Fall 4:19) - UTC 27-6
184: Conor Fenn (DAVI) over Ben Stacey (UTC) (Dec 10-4) - UTC 27-9
197: Rod Jones (UTC) over Finaly Holston (DAV) (MD 10-0)- UTC 31-9
285: Connor Tolley (UTC) over Mitchell Trigg (DAV) (Dec 5-3) - UTC 34-9


Login or Register to post a comment